July 2021

Air Purifiers: Aggregated Ranking Report

This report contains an aggregate consensus of Air Purifier rankings posted by key online experts, as of July 2021.

Methodology: combine opinions of key experts

Identify Experts

We identify key publishers and experts that consistently review and recommend Air Purifiers.

Capture Rankings

For each publisher we find a currently recommended "top 10" list of Air Purifiers, it must be updated in the last 9 months.

Aggregate Rankings

We put all those lists together and aggregate them. The more frequently a product is recommended, the higher it is in our ranking

Experts chosen for July 2021 ranking

At a glance - July 2021 Ranking

Scroll horizontally to browse this ranking table
Rank Price Air Purifier
Tom's Guide
Business Insider
Popular Mechanics
idealhome.co.uk
audacy.com
NBC News
CNET
WIRED
The Spruce Pets
This Old House
1
$120 Blue Pure 411
3
-
7
-
4
1
3
4
-
-
2
$220 Coway AP-1512HH
1
-
1
-
-
-
2
-
-
-
3
$83 GermGuardian AC4825
-
-
3
-
6
4
-
-
-
2
4
Check price Honeywell Insight HPA5300B
-
-
-
-
3
-
-
3
1
-
5
$210 Honeywell HPA300
6
-
-
-
-
5
1
-
-
-
6
$90 Levoit LV-H132
7
-
-
-
-
2
-
-
4
-
7
$524 Coway Airmega 400
4
-
-
-
-
-
-
2
7
-
8
$320 Alen BreatheSmart
-
4
-
-
-
-
-
-
3
4
9
Check price Dyson Pure Humidify + Cool
-
-
6
-
-
6
-
6
-
-
10
$799 Molekule Air
-
-
8
-
-
3
-
-
-
-
11
$899 IQAir HealthPro Plus
9
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
3
12
Check price Austin B400A1
5
-
-
-
-
7
-
-
-
-
13
Check price Honeywell HPA250B
-
-
10
-
-
-
-
7
-
-
14
$100 Pure Enrichment PureZone
-
-
-
-
8
-
-
-
8
-

We ranked Blue Pure 411 #1 in July 2021 because:

  • 6 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Air Purifiers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Blue Pure 411 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Tom's Guide

The best air purifier for small spaces

Pros
Energy efficient
Affordable

Cons
Small design with limited reach

Go to ranking

Popular Mechanics

Go to ranking

audacy.com

Go to ranking

NBC News

Go to ranking

CNET

Best midrange air purifier

Go to ranking

WIRED

Quietest Air Purifier

Go to ranking

We ranked Coway AP-1512HH #2 in July 2021 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Air Purifiers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 2 experts ranked Coway AP-1512HH as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Tom's Guide

The best air purifier overall

Pros
Consistently exceptional performance in real-world tests
Quiet
Low-profile design

Cons
Questionable customer support

Go to ranking

Popular Mechanics

Air Quality Sensor

Go to ranking

CNET

The other best air purifier

Go to ranking

We ranked GermGuardian AC4825 #3 in July 2021 because:

  • 4 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Air Purifiers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Popular Mechanics

Go to ranking

audacy.com

Go to ranking

NBC News

Go to ranking

This Old House

Best Value

Pros
This affordable unit requires minimal maintenance, clears air, and reduces odors. It’s a great pick for pet owners, as it’s designed to remove pet dander, odors, and hair.
Reduces pollutants in rooms up to 390 square feet
Charcoal filter removes odors
Optional UV-C light with Titanium Dioxide to reduce airborne bacteria, viruses, and germs

Cons
Deodorizing filters need to be replaced weekly
Can be a bit loud on its highest setting

Go to ranking

We ranked Honeywell Insight HPA5300B #4 in July 2021 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Air Purifiers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Honeywell Insight HPA5300B as #1.
Critic endorsements:
audacy.com

Go to ranking

WIRED

An Affordable Big-Room Air Purifier

Go to ranking

The Spruce Pets

Best Overall

Go to ranking

We ranked Honeywell HPA300 #5 in July 2021 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Air Purifiers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Honeywell HPA300 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Tom's Guide

A good value pick among air purifiers

Pros
Portable and easy to use
Quiet on low speeds; relatively quiet on high setting

Cons
More expensive than some similar units
Significant maintenance requirements

Go to ranking

NBC News

Go to ranking

CNET

Best air purifier overall

Go to ranking

We ranked Levoit LV-H132 #6 in July 2021 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Air Purifiers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Tom's Guide

The best air purifier for very tight budgets

Pros
Decent performance for the price
Small and portable

Cons
Loud
Minimal features

Go to ranking

NBC News

Go to ranking

The Spruce Pets

Best for Odors

Go to ranking

We ranked Coway Airmega 400 #7 in July 2021 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Air Purifiers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Tom's Guide

The best air purifiers for large spaces

Pros
High-performing dual filters
Aesthetically pleasing

Cons
Expensive

Go to ranking

WIRED

Best for Large Rooms

Go to ranking

The Spruce Pets

Best for Large Rooms

Go to ranking

We ranked Alen BreatheSmart #8 in July 2021 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Air Purifiers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Business Insider

Best ionizing air purifier

Pros
Low-ozone ionizer, great job of quickly removing particulate matter, quiet operation, easy setup and maintenance, affordable and widely-available filters

Cons
Poor VOC removal, hard to transport, heavy energy use

Go to ranking

The Spruce Pets

Best Splurge

Go to ranking

This Old House

Pros
SmartSensor technology automatically adjusts airflow to remove impurities and reduce odors
Covers large rooms, cleaning 1,100 sq. feet every 30 minutes
WhisperMax technology produces a pink noise to promote better sleep

Cons
Requires replacement filters
New units may give off a plastic smell

Go to ranking

We ranked Dyson Pure Humidify + Cool #9 in July 2021 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Air Purifiers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Popular Mechanics

Go to ranking

NBC News

Go to ranking

WIRED

Best Luxury Purifier

Go to ranking

We ranked Molekule Air #10 in July 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Air Purifiers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Popular Mechanics

Go to ranking

NBC News

Go to ranking

We ranked IQAir HealthPro Plus #11 in July 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Air Purifiers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Tom's Guide

The best air purifier for allergy sufferers

Pros
Individually tested units
Top-notch warranty
Medical-grade filters

Cons
Expensive to buy and maintain
Loud on higher speeds

Go to ranking

This Old House

Premium Pick

Pros
Hospital- and FDA-approved
Quiet relative to other products reviewed
Device can be easily moved from room to room
Timer that conserves energy and prolongs filter life

Cons
New units may give off a chemical smell at first
Machine and filters are expensive

Go to ranking

We ranked Austin B400A1 #12 in July 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Air Purifiers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Tom's Guide

The longest-lasting filters

Pros
Long filter life span
Effective for odor and chemical sensitivities

Cons
Expensive
Loud

Go to ranking

NBC News

Go to ranking

We ranked Honeywell HPA250B #13 in July 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Air Purifiers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Popular Mechanics

Go to ranking

WIRED

Best Smart Air Purifier

Go to ranking

We ranked Pure Enrichment PureZone #14 in July 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Air Purifiers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
audacy.com

Go to ranking

The Spruce Pets

Best Portable

Go to ranking