November 2021

Audio Mixers: Aggregated Ranking Report

This report contains an aggregate consensus of Audio Mixer rankings posted by key online experts, as of November 2021.

At a glance - November 2021 Ranking

Scroll horizontally to browse this ranking table
Rank Change Price Audio Mixer
Music Radar
Music Critic
BestReviews
Podcast Insights
WireRealm
BestCovery
Vlog Tribe
Spy
Hustlr
Old Time Music
1
- $220
Yamaha MG10XU
-
8
3
10
-
-
2
1
-
-
2
+9 $552
Zoom LiveTrak L-12
4
-
1
-
-
-
-
-
-
7
3
- $39
Behringer Xenyx 502
-
3
2
-
-
-
5
-
-
-
4
+6 Check price
Alto Professional ZMX122FX
-
7
-
-
-
-
-
2
5
-
5
- Check price
Mackie PROFX8v2
-
-
-
11
-
-
-
-
-
1
6
New * $399
TC-Helicon GoXLR
-
-
5
-
-
-
1
-
-
-
7
-1 Check price
Yamaha Emx5014c
-
-
-
-
3
-
-
-
-
3
8
- $160
Yamaha AG03
-
-
-
3
-
-
-
-
-
4
9
-2 $679
Allen & Heath ZED-12FX
-
-
-
14
-
-
-
-
-
2
10
-1 Check price
Peavey Pvi 6500
-
-
-
-
-
2
-
-
-
6
11
+1 $598
Rode Caster Pro
10
-
-
7
-
-
-
-
-
-
12
+2 $259
Soundcraft EPM6
-
5
-
-
-
8
-
-
-
-
13
+2 $99
Behringer Xenyx 1202FX
-
6
-
-
-
-
-
-
7
-
14
-12 $400
Mackie ProFX12v2
-
-
-
12
-
-
-
-
-
10
15
-11 $74
Maker Hart Loop Mixer
-
-
-
-
-
-
7
-
4
-
16
- $1200
Behringer XR18
-
-
-
-
9
7
-
-
-
-
17
-4 $970
Mackie 1604 VLZ4
-
-
-
-
10
-
-
-
-
8

We ranked Yamaha MG10XU #1 in November 2021 because:

  • 5 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Audio Mixers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Yamaha MG10XU as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Music Critic

Pros
24 effects
Varying input options
Compressor knobs
3-band EQ
Compact and lightweight
Yamaha quality

Go to ranking

BestReviews

Pros
Built-in compression
48 volts of phantom power and smooth digital effects (including reverb) create a strong , clean sound.

Cons
USB interface can be difficult to use

Go to ranking

Podcast Insights

Go to ranking

Vlog Tribe

Great All-in-one Audio Mixer

Pros
It has ten channel mixers
It is easy to use
It is durable
It has 4XLR input

Cons
On an expensive side
Some reviews are saying it malfunctions and overheats

Go to ranking

Spy

Pros
Has 20 outputs
making it capable enough for larger settings.
Variety of built-in effects.
USB output.

Cons
Can potentially overheat.

Go to ranking

We ranked Zoom LiveTrak L-12 #2 in November 2021 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Audio Mixers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Zoom LiveTrak L-12 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Music Radar

This capable mixer is ideal for rehearsal rooms

Pros
All-in-one mixer and recorder
Custom mix monitoring

Cons
Mic preamps not quite flawless

Go to ranking

BestReviews

Pros
A simple but comprehensive unit that doesn't take up too much space.
Connect up to 5 headphones at once.
Scene-saving function lets you save up to 9 at once.
Buyers laud its comprehensive feature set for such a portable unit.

Cons
Some reports of sound-bleeding through channels.

Go to ranking

Old Time Music

Pros
Has everything you need to mix and record a live show.
Lots of onboard effects and features.
Easily transportable and well made.

Cons
None really.

Go to ranking

Methodology: combine opinions of key experts

Identify Experts

We identify key publishers and experts that consistently review and recommend Audio Mixers.

Capture Rankings

For each publisher we find a currently recommended "top 10" list of Audio Mixers, it must be updated in the last 9 months.

Aggregate Rankings

We put all those lists together and aggregate them. The more frequently a product is recommended, the higher it is in our ranking

Experts chosen for November 2021 ranking

We ranked Behringer Xenyx 502 #3 in November 2021 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Audio Mixers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Music Critic

Pros
Stereo inputs
Built-in mic preamps
Simple navigation features
3 channel
Fantastic audio

Go to ranking

BestReviews

Best bang for the Buck

Pros
An affordable sound mixer with professonal
touches like preamp and 2-Band British EQ.

Cons
A few reports of faulty (loose) power supply

Go to ranking

Vlog Tribe

Budget-Friendly and Compact Streaming Audio Mixer

Pros
Affordable
It comes with five channels
It is lightweight and compact
It has an easy-to-use design and interface

Cons
It could overheat when used for a long time
This Mixer lacks wireless capabilities

Go to ranking

We ranked Alto Professional ZMX122FX #4 in November 2021 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Audio Mixers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Music Critic

Pros
16 professional effects
Compact
Auxiliary sends
Decent price
Simple and straightforward interface

Go to ranking

Spy

Pros
Features two-bus design for convenience and control. There is a three-band EQ on each channel. Compact size still accommodates eight channels. Provides phantom power

Cons
The headphone channel is not separate.

Go to ranking

Hustlr

Pros
4-channel
Two stereo inputs
Clear sound
24-bit DSP effects
Onboard Alesis digital effects

Cons
The power cord is not durable

Go to ranking

We ranked Mackie PROFX8v2 #5 in November 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Audio Mixers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Mackie PROFX8v2 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Podcast Insights

Go to ranking

Old Time Music

Pros
EQ on each channel.
Great effects.
Easily transportable.

Cons
Only has eight channels, some may need more.

Go to ranking

We ranked TC-Helicon GoXLR #6 in November 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Audio Mixers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked TC-Helicon GoXLR as #1.
Critic endorsements:
BestReviews

Pros
Part multi-channel mixer, part preamp, part sampler—this unit does a little bit of everything.
TC-Helicon is a favorite among musicians and podcasters for its simple and beautiful design.
Easy-access buttons make everything simple. Great for streamers

Cons
While many musicians love this unit, some may want more control than this offers.

Go to ranking

Vlog Tribe

Most Popular Audio Mixer for Streaming

Pros
It has high power
It produces exquisite sound quality
It has a multiple voice effects option
It has an RGB lights function

Cons
It is expensive
Some complaints are saying that it malfunctions a few months after use

Go to ranking

We ranked Yamaha Emx5014c #7 in November 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Audio Mixers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
WireRealm

Go to ranking

Old Time Music

Pros
Rugged steel construction.
Rack Mountable.
Excellent SPX effects on board.

Cons
Might be expensive for some.

Go to ranking

We ranked Yamaha AG03 #8 in November 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Audio Mixers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Podcast Insights

Go to ranking

Old Time Music

Pros
Excellent recording and loopback options.
Multi-usage.
Built-in audio interface.

Cons
Not particularly cheap for its size.

Go to ranking

We ranked Allen & Heath ZED-12FX #9 in November 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Audio Mixers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Podcast Insights

Go to ranking

Old Time Music

Pros
12 channel mixer with preamps on 6.
Masses of excellent features.
Good effects.

Cons
Will take some time to get to know its operation.

Go to ranking

We ranked Peavey Pvi 6500 #10 in November 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Audio Mixers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
BestCovery

Runner Up

Go to ranking

Old Time Music

Pros
Enough effects to handle basic sound production.
Well made and sturdy for travel.
Basic but built to be that way.

Cons
Best for live work only.

Go to ranking

We ranked Rode Caster Pro #11 in November 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Audio Mixers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Music Radar

Step up your podcasting game with this ace little mixer

Pros
Specialist capabilities
Programmable pads are a great addition

Cons
No ¼” jack inputs

Go to ranking

Podcast Insights

Go to ranking

We ranked Soundcraft EPM6 #12 in November 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Audio Mixers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Music Critic

Pros
Compact case
Easy-to-navigate controls
Studio or live use
Excellent sound quality
Simple features

Go to ranking

BestCovery

Best Digital Mixer

Go to ranking

We ranked Behringer Xenyx 1202FX #13 in November 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Audio Mixers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Music Critic

Pros
Plenty of input and output options
Compact
Lots of effects
Well-priced
Easy to navigate
USB Channel

Go to ranking

Hustlr

Pros
Affordable
5-channel
Durable
Dynamic quality
Easy to use

Cons
It does not give much room for customization
No wireless connection available

Go to ranking

We ranked Mackie ProFX12v2 #14 in November 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Audio Mixers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Podcast Insights

Go to ranking

Old Time Music

Pros
Compact and easy to transport.
Packed with sound and mixing options.
Good value for money.

Cons
Some may require a bigger desk.

Go to ranking

We ranked Maker Hart Loop Mixer #15 in November 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Audio Mixers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Vlog Tribe

Versatile Design Audio Mixer for Streaming

Pros
It has a versatile design
This audio mixer has 9V Power
It is a 5-channel mixer
It has 3 outputs available

Cons
The power button is said to get stuck on the casing
Some complain about issues with the input

Go to ranking

Hustlr

Pros
5-channel
3 outputs
Versatile design
Signal control
Mono and stereo adapter
9V power

Cons
The power button can get stuck inside the casing

Go to ranking

We ranked Behringer XR18 #16 in November 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Audio Mixers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
WireRealm

Go to ranking

BestCovery

Best Digital Mixer

Go to ranking

We ranked Mackie 1604 VLZ4 #17 in November 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Audio Mixers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
WireRealm

Go to ranking

Old Time Music

Pros
Tough, sturdy build.
Preamps on all channels.
Sealed control units

Cons
•The price might put some off.

Go to ranking