August 2022

Inkjet Printers: Meta Ranking Report

This report contains an aggregate consensus of Printer rankings posted by key online experts, as of August 2022.

Summary

As of 6 Aug 2022, Canon Pixma TR8620 takes the cake as the most critically-acclaimed printer with 2 expert endorsements. 1 experts out of 2 recommended it as the '#1 printer' this month. It is followed by HP OfficeJet 3830 and Canon Pixma TS8220 , with 3 and 2 expert endorsements respectively.

At a glance - August 2022 Ranking

Scroll horizontally to browse this ranking table
Rank Change Price Printer
Lifewire
TechRadar
BestReviews
Rtings.com
The Street
LD Products
Digital Trends
PhotoWorkout
PCMag
Gadget Review
1
+1 $241
Canon Pixma TR8620
-
-
-
3
-
1
-
-
-
-
2
-1 $349
HP OfficeJet 3830
2
-
-
-
-
-
-
7
-
3
3
- $379
Canon Pixma TS8220
4
-
-
-
-
-
-
1
-
-
4
+1 $777
Brother MFC-J995DW
-
-
-
-
2
2
-
-
-
-
5
+2 $76
Epson XP-4100
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
3
-
4
14
+1 Check price
HP Envy 5055
-
10
-
-
-
-
-
2
-
-
15
-11 $950
Epson EcoTank Pro ET-5850
-
-
-
4
-
-
-
-
6
-
16
- $99
Canon Pixma MG3620
-
-
-
-
5
-
-
-
-
6
17
- $274
Brother MFC-J491DW
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
6
-
5
18
New * Check price
HP OfficeJet 250
7
-
-
5
-
-
-
-
-
-

We ranked Canon Pixma TR8620 #1 in August 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Inkjet Printers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Canon Pixma TR8620 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Rtings.com

Best Photo Inkjet Printer

Go to ranking

LD Products

Best Overall

Go to ranking

We ranked HP OfficeJet 3830 #2 in August 2022 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Inkjet Printers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Lifewire

Best Budget

Pros
Light, compact design
Amazing quality photo prints
Document feeder for copying

Cons
Tri-color cartridge drains quickly
Small control panel

Go to ranking

PhotoWorkout

Go to ranking

Gadget Review

Best Value

Pros
2.2-inch touchscreen
Up to 20 ppm print speed
Auto document feeder

Cons
No separate photo tray
No scan to email
No auto 2-sided printing

Go to ranking

Methodology: combine opinions of key experts

Identify Experts

We identify key publishers and experts that consistently review and recommend Inkjet Printers.

Capture Rankings

For each publisher we find a currently recommended "top 10" list of Inkjet Printers, it must be updated in the last 9 months.

Aggregate Rankings

We put all those lists together and aggregate them. The more frequently a product is recommended, the higher it is in our ranking

Experts chosen for August 2022 ranking

We ranked Canon Pixma TS8220 #3 in August 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Inkjet Printers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Canon Pixma TS8220 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Lifewire

Best All-in-One

Pros
SD Card support
Hands-free printing

Cons
No NFC or Ethernet support
Slow document printing

Go to ranking

PhotoWorkout

Go to ranking

We ranked Brother MFC-J995DW #4 in August 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Inkjet Printers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
The Street

Runner up

Pros
Versatile paper handling ability
Adjustable up to 150 paper tray
Offers automatic duplex printing
An automatic document feeder is available

Cons
Proper cleaning and care is needed for a long term ink storage

Go to ranking

LD Products

Best Budget Printer

Go to ranking

We ranked Epson XP-4100 #5 in August 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Inkjet Printers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
PhotoWorkout

Go to ranking

Gadget Review

Best 2-sided printer

Pros
High-quality prints
Built-in 2.4” color touchscreen
Easily print from phone or table

Cons
Must buy Epson ink
Up to 10 pages per minute print speed (1 of the slowest on our list)
Paper jams easily

Go to ranking

We ranked HP Envy 5055 #6 in August 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Inkjet Printers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
TechRadar

Budget printer with a talent for photos

Pros
Low price
Dual-band Wi-FI

Cons
High ink cost
No Ethernet port

Go to ranking

PhotoWorkout

Go to ranking

We ranked Epson EcoTank Pro ET-5850 #7 in August 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Inkjet Printers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Rtings.com

Best Small/Home Office Inkjet Printer

Go to ranking

PCMag

Best High-Volume Office AIO / Editors' Choice

Pros
Two years of unlimited ink
Very low running costs
Terrific print quality
Auto-duplexing ADF
PrecisionCore 4S printhead
Excellent mobile connectivity options
Two-year warranty with registration

Cons
High initial purchase price

Go to ranking

We ranked Canon Pixma MG3620 #8 in August 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Inkjet Printers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
The Street

Pros
Provide an excellent detailed and clear image
Pretty compact and doesn’t take too much space

Cons
Difficult to install ink in the printer

Go to ranking

Gadget Review

Best Budget

Pros
Easy to set up
High-quality scanner
Quick color copies

Cons
No display screen
Two-sided printing is slow
9.9 pages per minute print speed (slowest on our list)

Go to ranking

We ranked Brother MFC-J491DW #9 in August 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Inkjet Printers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
PhotoWorkout

Go to ranking

Gadget Review

Best Value

Pros
Automatic duplex printing
Cloud connectivity
Up to 12 pages per minute print speed

Cons
Uses ink for its routine maintenance schedule
All inks must be installed for the printer to print
Slow printing

Go to ranking

We ranked HP OfficeJet 250 #10 in August 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Inkjet Printers” rankings.
Expert Consensus
(as of 27 Jan 2021)
The HP OfficeJet 250 is good for casual photos. Produced images have a decent amount of detail with impressively accurate colors. The printer lets you connect to USB, WIFI and Bluetooth from your laptop or computer. It's affordable to print photos, but replacing the color cartridge can get expensive, especially if you plan on printing in color a lot.
A more detailed summary:

The HP OfficeJet 250 Mobile All-in-One printer is designed to be very portable so you can bring it around with you when traveling for business. It has a removable, rechargeable battery for when you don't have a power outlet near you, and it has great connectivity options or Bluetooth, WIFI and USB. It has great color accuracy and produces decently-detailed photos. It isn't very affordable to print in black due to the very low page yield, so the cost of replacing the cartridges can quickly surpass the price of the printer itself.

Critic endorsements:
Lifewire

Most portable

Pros
Excellent photo quality
Fast printing and scanning speeds
LCD touchscreen

Cons
USB cable not included
Relatively big and bulky for a mobile wireless printer

Go to ranking

Rtings.com

Best Portable Inkjet Printer

Go to ranking