June 2022

Home Audio CD Players: Meta Ranking Report

This report contains an aggregate consensus of CD Player rankings posted by key online experts, as of June 2022.

Summary

As of 7 Jun 2022, Onkyo DXC390 takes the cake as the most critically-acclaimed cd player with 3 expert endorsements. 1 experts out of 3 recommended it as the '#1 cd player' this month. It is followed by Bose Wave SoundTouch IV and Cambridge Audio CXC , with 2 and 3 expert endorsements respectively.

At a glance - June 2022 Ranking

Scroll horizontally to browse this ranking table
Rank Change Price CD Player
BestReviews
What Hi-Fi
BestCovery
AlphaTopList
iMore
Lifewire
Idsesmedia
Prime Critics
Technize
Crutchfield
1
- $319
Onkyo DXC390
-
-
1
-
4
-
-
-
8
-
2
- Check price
Bose Wave SoundTouch IV
-
-
-
-
1
-
-
-
1
-
3
- $699
Cambridge Audio CXC
3
4
4
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
4
- $428
Bose Wave Music System IV
5
-
-
-
-
1
-
-
-
-
5
- $399
Cambridge Audio AXC35
-
5
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
1
6
- Check price
Como Audio Musica
-
-
-
-
3
-
-
-
7
-
7
- $364
Teac PD 301 CD Player
-
-
-
-
5
2
-
-
-
-
8
- Check price
Tascam CD-200BT
-
-
-
-
-
3
-
-
10
-
9
- $399
Tascam CD-RW900MKII
-
-
-
-
-
4
-
-
6
-

We ranked Onkyo DXC390 #1 in June 2022 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Onkyo DXC390 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
BestCovery

Best CD Player Overall

Go to ranking

iMore

Best CD Changer

Pros
Multiple CD slots
Continuous playback options
Plays different types of CDs

Cons
No wireless options
No app

Go to ranking

Technize

Go to ranking

We ranked Bose Wave SoundTouch IV #2 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
  • Out of those, 2 experts ranked Bose Wave SoundTouch IV as #1.
Critic endorsements:
iMore

Best Overall

Pros
Offers Internet radio, online music services
Works with Alexa
One-touch access

Cons
Only one CD slot
Expensive

Go to ranking

Technize

Go to ranking

Methodology: combine opinions of key experts

Identify Experts

We identify key publishers and experts that consistently review and recommend Home Audio CD Players.

Capture Rankings

For each publisher we find a currently recommended "top 10" list of Home Audio CD Players, it must be updated in the last 9 months.

Aggregate Rankings

We put all those lists together and aggregate them. The more frequently a product is recommended, the higher it is in our ranking

Experts chosen for June 2022 ranking

We ranked Cambridge Audio CXC #3 in June 2022 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
BestReviews

Unrivaled Sound

Pros
Will sound great day one which allows users to hear “crisper” versions of each instrument.
Boasts a straightforward setup with an easy-to-use remote and sensible button display.

Cons
No radio or Bluetooth capabilities.

Go to ranking

What Hi-Fi

If you already own a DAC, you can buy this CD transport instead of a standalone player. Trust us, its sound will impress.

Pros
Musicality and muscle
Well-built
Good remote control

Cons
Requires an external DAC
Getting older now
Minimal for some

Go to ranking

BestCovery

Best looking cd player

Go to ranking

We ranked Bose Wave Music System IV #4 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Bose Wave Music System IV as #1.
Critic endorsements:
BestReviews

Most Comprehensive

Pros
Using Bose’s “Waveguide” technology, sound is able to permeate throughout the listener’s room making for an immersive music experience.
Able to play radio, MP3, CD, and Bluetooth.

Cons
You will need an adapter to utilize the Bluetooth technology.

Go to ranking

Lifewire

Best Overall

Pros
Fantastic audio quality
Good voice recognition
Handy remote and dedicated app for unit control

Cons
Wi-Fi connectivity can be problematic
Setup process can take longer than average thanks to frequent updates

Go to ranking

We ranked Cambridge Audio AXC35 #5 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Cambridge Audio AXC35 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
What Hi-Fi

Slimline, no-frills CD player, a capable contender

Pros
Good detail resolution
Fits well within AX series
Minimalist design

Cons
Can be beaten for sound
Functional build
No optical output

Go to ranking

Crutchfield

Best budget CD player

Go to ranking

We ranked Como Audio Musica #6 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
iMore

Best Design

Pros
Available in multiple finishes
Supports a variety of audio formats
Built-in streaming services

Cons
Pricey
Alexa not built-in

Go to ranking

Technize

Go to ranking

We ranked Teac PD 301 CD Player #7 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
iMore

Best for Small Spaces

Pros
Tiny
Playback of multiple file types
Offers digital to analog audio converters

Cons
High price
Doesn't include speakers

Go to ranking

Lifewire

Best for Compact Spaces

Pros
User-friendly controls
Beautiful, compact design
TEAC tray-loader included
Low signal-to-noise ratio for an exceptional hi-fi experience

Cons
Display is difficult to read at times

Go to ranking

We ranked Tascam CD-200BT #8 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Lifewire

Best for Durability

Pros
Durable, sturdy build
Bluetooth connectivity
Built-in 10-second shock protection

Cons
No USB support
No included cables
Design isn't very attractive

Go to ranking

Technize

Go to ranking

We ranked Tascam CD-RW900MKII #9 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Lifewire

Best for Live Applications

Pros
User-friendly gapless recording
TEAC tray-loading transport included
Great for recording live media direct to CD

Cons
No USB support
Design isn't very attractive

Go to ranking

Technize

Go to ranking