September 2021

Home Audio CD Players: Aggregated Ranking Report

This report contains an aggregate consensus of CD Player rankings posted by key online experts, as of September 2021.

At a glance - September 2021 Ranking

Scroll horizontally to browse this ranking table
Rank Change Price CD Player
BestReviews
What Hi-Fi
BestCovery
AlphaTopList
Technize
Idapt
Crutchfield
Lifewire
Idsesmedia
Prime Critics
1
New * $266
Onkyo DXC390
2
-
1
-
8
-
-
-
-
-
2
New * $580
Yamaha CD-C600BL
1
-
-
-
2
-
-
-
-
-
3
-2 Check price
Tenswall Portable CD Player
-
-
-
-
-
1
-
-
7
-
4
New * $350
Cambridge Audio AXC35
-
5
-
-
-
-
1
-
-
-
5
-2 Check price
Tascam CD-200BT
-
-
-
-
10
-
-
3
-
-
6
+4 Check price
Sylvania SRCD243
-
-
-
-
-
2
-
-
-
9
7
-5 $393
Tascam CD-RW900MKII
-
-
-
-
6
-
-
4
-
-
8
-4 $500
Teac CD-P650
-
-
-
-
4
7
-
-
-
-
9
+7 $19
GPX PC332B
-
-
-
-
-
5
-
-
-
5
10
New * $599
Cambridge Audio CXC
-
4
4
-
-
-
-
-
-
-

We ranked Onkyo DXC390 #1 in September 2021 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Onkyo DXC390 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
BestReviews

Best bang for the buck

Pros
In addition to producing clear, balanced sound, it can play a CD while changing up to 5 others without interrupting your listening experience. Easy to set up; build feels sturdy.

Cons
The design is somewhat bulky and takes up more space than similar models. Some faulty units upon arrival have been reported.

Go to ranking

BestCovery

Best CD Player Overall

Go to ranking

Technize

Go to ranking

We ranked Yamaha CD-C600BL #2 in September 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Yamaha CD-C600BL as #1.
Critic endorsements:
BestReviews

Best of the best

Pros
A 5-disc player-changer with patented PlayXchange technology for seamlessly uninterrupted play. Superior audiophile-approved sound. Easy to set up and play.

Cons
Various malfunctions with the disc changer have been reported, and customer service is sometimes slow to respond.

Go to ranking

Technize

Go to ranking

Methodology: combine opinions of key experts

Identify Experts

We identify key publishers and experts that consistently review and recommend Home Audio CD Players.

Capture Rankings

For each publisher we find a currently recommended "top 10" list of Home Audio CD Players, it must be updated in the last 9 months.

Aggregate Rankings

We put all those lists together and aggregate them. The more frequently a product is recommended, the higher it is in our ranking

Experts chosen for September 2021 ranking

We ranked Tenswall Portable CD Player #3 in September 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Tenswall Portable CD Player as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Idapt

Go to ranking

Idsesmedia

Go to ranking

We ranked Cambridge Audio AXC35 #4 in September 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Cambridge Audio AXC35 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
What Hi-Fi

Slimline, no-frills CD player, a capable contender

Pros
Good detail resolution
Fits well within AX series
Minimalist design

Cons
Can be beaten for sound
Functional build
No optical output

Go to ranking

Crutchfield

Best budget CD player

Go to ranking

We ranked Tascam CD-200BT #5 in September 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Technize

Go to ranking

Lifewire

Best for Durability

Pros
Durable, sturdy build
Bluetooth connectivity
Built-in 10-second shock protection

Cons
No USB support
No included cables
Design isn't very attractive

Go to ranking

We ranked Sylvania SRCD243 #6 in September 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Idapt

Go to ranking

Prime Critics

Go to ranking

We ranked Tascam CD-RW900MKII #7 in September 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Technize

Go to ranking

Lifewire

Best for Live Applications

Pros
User-friendly gapless recording
TEAC tray-loading transport included
Great for recording live media direct to CD

Cons
No USB support
Design isn't very attractive

Go to ranking

We ranked Teac CD-P650 #8 in September 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Technize

Go to ranking

Idapt

Go to ranking

We ranked GPX PC332B #9 in September 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Idapt

Go to ranking

Prime Critics

Go to ranking

We ranked Cambridge Audio CXC #10 in September 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
What Hi-Fi

If you already own a DAC, you can buy this CD transport instead of a standalone player. Trust us, its sound will impress.

Pros
Musicality and muscle
Well-built
Good remote control

Cons
Requires an external DAC
Getting older now
Minimal for some

Go to ranking

BestCovery

Best looking cd player

Go to ranking