January 2022

Home Audio CD Players: Aggregated Ranking Report

This report contains an aggregate consensus of CD Player rankings posted by key online experts, as of January 2022.

At a glance - January 2022 Ranking

Scroll horizontally to browse this ranking table
Rank Change Price CD Player
BestReviews
What Hi-Fi
BestCovery
AlphaTopList
Idapt
Lifewire
Idsesmedia
Prime Critics
Technize
Crutchfield
1
- $599
Cambridge Audio CXC
3
4
4
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
2
- $700
Onkyo DXC390
-
-
1
-
-
-
-
-
8
-
3
- $588
Bose Wave Music System IV
5
-
-
-
-
1
-
-
-
-
4
- $350
Cambridge Audio AXC35
-
5
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
1
5
- Check price
Tenswall Portable CD Player
-
-
-
-
1
-
7
-
-
-
6
- $28
Sylvania SRCD243
-
-
-
-
2
-
-
9
-
-
7
- $429
Tascam CD-200BT
-
-
-
-
-
3
-
-
10
-
8
- $23
GPX PC332B
-
-
-
-
5
-
-
5
-
-
9
- $1190
Teac CD-P650
-
-
-
-
7
-
-
-
4
-
10
- Check price
Tascam CD-RW900MKII
-
-
-
-
-
4
-
-
6
-

We ranked Cambridge Audio CXC #1 in January 2022 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
BestReviews

Unrivaled Sound

Pros
Will sound great day one which allows users to hear “crisper” versions of each instrument.
Boasts a straightforward setup with an easy-to-use remote and sensible button display.

Cons
No radio or Bluetooth capabilities.

Go to ranking

What Hi-Fi

If you already own a DAC, you can buy this CD transport instead of a standalone player. Trust us, its sound will impress.

Pros
Musicality and muscle
Well-built
Good remote control

Cons
Requires an external DAC
Getting older now
Minimal for some

Go to ranking

BestCovery

Best looking cd player

Go to ranking

We ranked Onkyo DXC390 #2 in January 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Onkyo DXC390 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
BestCovery

Best CD Player Overall

Go to ranking

Technize

Go to ranking

Methodology: combine opinions of key experts

Identify Experts

We identify key publishers and experts that consistently review and recommend Home Audio CD Players.

Capture Rankings

For each publisher we find a currently recommended "top 10" list of Home Audio CD Players, it must be updated in the last 9 months.

Aggregate Rankings

We put all those lists together and aggregate them. The more frequently a product is recommended, the higher it is in our ranking

Experts chosen for January 2022 ranking

We ranked Bose Wave Music System IV #3 in January 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Bose Wave Music System IV as #1.
Critic endorsements:
BestReviews

Most Comprehensive

Pros
Using Bose’s “Waveguide” technology, sound is able to permeate throughout the listener’s room making for an immersive music experience.
Able to play radio, MP3, CD, and Bluetooth.

Cons
You will need an adapter to utilize the Bluetooth technology.

Go to ranking

Lifewire

Best Overall

Pros
Fantastic audio quality
Good voice recognition
Handy remote and dedicated app for unit control

Cons
Wi-Fi connectivity can be problematic
Setup process can take longer than average thanks to frequent updates

Go to ranking

We ranked Cambridge Audio AXC35 #4 in January 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Cambridge Audio AXC35 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
What Hi-Fi

Slimline, no-frills CD player, a capable contender

Pros
Good detail resolution
Fits well within AX series
Minimalist design

Cons
Can be beaten for sound
Functional build
No optical output

Go to ranking

Crutchfield

Best budget CD player

Go to ranking

We ranked Tenswall Portable CD Player #5 in January 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Tenswall Portable CD Player as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Idapt

Go to ranking

Idsesmedia

Go to ranking

We ranked Sylvania SRCD243 #6 in January 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Idapt

Go to ranking

Prime Critics

Go to ranking

We ranked Tascam CD-200BT #7 in January 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Lifewire

Best for Durability

Pros
Durable, sturdy build
Bluetooth connectivity
Built-in 10-second shock protection

Cons
No USB support
No included cables
Design isn't very attractive

Go to ranking

Technize

Go to ranking

We ranked GPX PC332B #8 in January 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Idapt

Go to ranking

Prime Critics

Go to ranking

We ranked Teac CD-P650 #9 in January 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Idapt

Go to ranking

Technize

Go to ranking

We ranked Tascam CD-RW900MKII #10 in January 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Home Audio CD Players” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Lifewire

Best for Live Applications

Pros
User-friendly gapless recording
TEAC tray-loading transport included
Great for recording live media direct to CD

Cons
No USB support
Design isn't very attractive

Go to ranking

Technize

Go to ranking