November 2022

Electric Bicycles: Meta Ranking Report

This report contains an aggregate consensus of Electric Bicycle rankings posted by key online experts, as of November 2022.

Summary

As of 11 Nov 2022, Lectric Ebikes XP 2.0 takes the cake as the most critically-acclaimed electric bicycle with 5 expert endorsements. It is followed by Charge Bikes City and Specialized Turbo Vado 4.0 , with 4 and 3 expert endorsements respectively.

At a glance - November 2022 Ranking

Scroll horizontally to browse this ranking table
Rank Change Price Electric Bicycle
TechRadar
Electric Bike Report
Tom's Guide
Insider
Cycling Weekly
Bicycling
WIRED
Luxe Digital
Cycling News
Forbes
1
- Check price
Lectric Ebikes XP 2.0
-
4
-
-
-
5
11
5
-
4
2
+1 Check price
Charge Bikes City
-
-
3
3
-
15
-
-
-
6
3
+1 Check price
Specialized Turbo Vado 4.0
1
13
-
-
-
9
-
-
-
-
4
+1 Check price
Gocycle G4
3
14
-
4
13
-
-
-
-
-
5
+1 Check price
Rad Power RadCity 5 Plus
-
2
1
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
6
+1 Check price
Ride1UP 700 Series
-
3
-
-
-
-
-
6
-
2
7
+1 Check price
VanMoof S3
-
-
4
-
-
-
-
-
-
1
8
+12 Check price
RadPower RadRover 6 Plus
-
-
-
-
-
1
-
7
-
-
9
- Check price
Aventon Aventure
-
1
8
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
10
- Check price
Rad Power RadRunner
-
-
-
-
-
10
3
14
-
-
11
+8 Check price
Aventon Soltera
-
-
2
-
-
4
-
-
-
-
12
- Check price
Brompton Electric H6L
-
-
13
-
15
-
-
-
16
-
18
-1 Check price
Aventon Level
-
-
-
-
-
2
-
-
9
-
19
-1 Check price
Rad Power Bikes RadExpand 5
-
12
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
3
20
-9 Check price
Specialized S-Works Turbo Creo SL
-
-
-
-
2
-
-
-
17
-
21
- Check price
Ribble Hybrid AL e
5
-
-
-
9
-
-
-
-
-
22
- Check price
Rad Power Bikes RadWagon 4
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
10
5
23
- Check price
Ride1Up Prodigy
9
-
-
-
-
7
-
-
-
-
24
- Check price
Cannondale Topstone Neo Lefty 3
-
-
-
-
3
-
-
-
20
-
25
- Check price
Urban Arrow Family
-
-
10
-
-
-
7
-
-
-
26
- Check price
QuietKat Jeep
-
10
-
-
-
-
-
12
-
-
27
- Check price
Ride1Up Roadster V2
-
-
-
-
7
-
-
17
-
-
28
+1 Check price
Trek Domane Plus
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
16
18
-

We ranked Lectric Ebikes XP 2.0 #1 in November 2022 because:

  • 5 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Electric Bike Report

The Best Folding Electric Bike, 2022

Pros
This is one of the best riding affordable folding e-bikes on the market around $1,000.
The motor is powerful and accelerates quickly.
The bike collapses down small, making it easy to store and transport.
The large LCD display is easy to read and gives good ride data.
The XP comes with great features for the price point. You get quite a bit for what you pay.
The 3-inch tires give decent traction and help soak up bumps. These tires make the bike feel a little more off-road capable.

Cons
The XP’s 60-plus pound weight is a bit hefty, so while this bike folds it’s still a bit to manage.
The XP isn’t the most comfortable for longer stints in the saddle. The optional suspension seatpost may be a wise upgrade.
The key hole is located on the bottom of the frame, which can be a bit tough to find.

Go to ranking

Bicycling

Best Cheap Folding E-Bike

Pros
Folds down for easier storage

Cons
Heavy

Go to ranking

WIRED

A More Affordable Folding Ebike

Go to ranking

Luxe Digital

Best foldable electric bike

Go to ranking

Forbes

Best Budget Electric Bike

Go to ranking

We ranked Charge Bikes City #2 in November 2022 because:

  • 4 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Tom's Guide

Best electric bike for commuters

Pros
Excellent handling
Complete set of features

Cons
Plain styling

Go to ranking

Insider

Best budget electric bike

Pros
Folding pedals and handlebars make it easy to store and carry
inexpensive price tag for an e-bike
50 miles of available range
has a lockable battery

Cons
Splash guards take some tinkering to get them not to rub on the tires
can be a jolty take-off if you're not used to the motor

Go to ranking

Bicycling

Great Parts at a Great Value

Pros
Great price
Comes with running lights, fenders, and a rear rack
Class 2 e-bike with throttle

Go to ranking

Forbes

Best City Commuter Bike

Go to ranking

Methodology: combine opinions of key experts

Identify Experts

We identify key publishers and experts that consistently review and recommend Electric Bicycles.

Capture Rankings

For each publisher we find a currently recommended "top 10" list of Electric Bicycles, it must be updated in the last 9 months.

Aggregate Rankings

We put all those lists together and aggregate them. The more frequently a product is recommended, the higher it is in our ranking

Experts chosen for November 2022 ranking

We ranked Specialized Turbo Vado 4.0 #3 in November 2022 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Specialized Turbo Vado 4.0 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
TechRadar

The best overall electric bike for any rider

Pros
Superb power delivery
Excellent tech features
Comfortable riding position

Cons
Quite heavy
Fiddly battery connector
Premium price

Go to ranking

Electric Bike Report

The Best High-Performance Electric Bike , 2022

Pros
Simply put: it’s one of the best feeling motors we’ve ever experienced.
The new looks of the Turbo Vado are great – it delivers a traditional bike feel.
Specialized’s global network of dealers and nearly unparallelled customer service.
This is a cruiser that could easily double as a commuter or city bike. It’s built to be very versatile

Cons
One of our only complaints is that the magnetic charger can be difficult to seat correctly when the battery is installed in the frame.

Go to ranking

Bicycling

Best Performing City E-Bike

Pros
Extremely functional and well thought-out.
Motor has a powerful, smooth, and natural feeling.
Lots of colors and size options.

Cons
Pricier than competitors.

Go to ranking

We ranked Gocycle G4 #4 in November 2022 because:

  • 4 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
TechRadar

The best premium electric bike for commuters and city-dwellers

Pros
Powerful new motor
Ingenious design
Excellent smartphone app

Cons
One of the most expensive e-bikes
Small wheels take a pounding

Go to ranking

Electric Bike Report

The Best Lightweight Electric Folding Bike, 2022

Pros
The design is bar-none. It’s amazing how many features have been crammed into such a little frame.
Folding the G4 is very easy and, with a little practice, can be done in just a few seconds.
The carbon rims on the G4i+ may seem like overkill on a folding commuter, but man do they make a noticeable difference. Plus they’re just ultra cool.
Electric shifting is ultra cool and works great. Did we mention it’s a system made special for GoCycle?
The lightweight plus convenient folding make the G4 lineup very realistic for dedicated bike commuters who are low on space.

Cons
The predictive shifting is a nice touch, but it may take a little getting used to for experienced riders.

Go to ranking

Insider

Best folding electric bike

Pros
Easy to store in small homes or apartments
has daytime running lights for added safety and visibility
fast top speed for a folding bike

Cons
Expensive

Go to ranking

Cycling Weekly

Best electric folding bike for portability when off the bike

Pros
Compact package when folded
Ability to roll along folded
Carbon fork for lightweight nimble ride feel
USB phone charge port

Cons
One size only
Bit tricky to fold and unfold
Not all models have adjustable handlebar height

Go to ranking

We ranked Rad Power RadCity 5 Plus #5 in November 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Rad Power RadCity 5 Plus as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Electric Bike Report

The Best Class II Electric Commuter Bike, 2022

Pros
672Wh is plenty of battery for commutes, and it looks great on the bike.
The handling is stable and predictable.
It’s currently in the top-tier of our brake tests.
The 750W motor will get the job done for you day in and day out..
The Rad Power Bikes branded tires also performed well.

Cons
For as much as the looks were upgraded, we feel some tidier cable management would have been nice.
We like the functionality of two displays, but the LEDs on the left-hand display are hard to read in sunlight.

Go to ranking

Tom's Guide

The best electric bike for most people

Pros
Very comfortable to ride
Easy to attach accessories
Powerful motor

Cons
Secondary display hard to read in sunlight
Cable management could be better

Go to ranking

We ranked Ride1UP 700 Series #6 in November 2022 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Electric Bike Report

The Best Class III Electric Commuter Bike, 2022

Pros
Full-package commuter that is within a reasonable budget.
It’s a powerful and speedy bike without ever giving the feeling of blowing you off the back of it.
The tires roll well and handle nicely.
The 672 Wh battery provides you with a to-work-and-back battery range.
The tire and suspension combo helps you absorb potholes and bumps very well.
The little things that come standard (bungees for the rack, fenders, and lights) really add up nicely to feeling like you can just unpack it and go..

Cons
Overall we like the color LCD display, but it can be a bit info-heavy which will feel a bit overwhelming until you’re used to it.
Chalk this one up to preference if you want, but the faux leather grips aren’t our favorite as they can be slippery with sweaty hands

Go to ranking

Luxe Digital

Most versatile electric bike

Go to ranking

Forbes

Best Value Electric Bike

Go to ranking

We ranked VanMoof S3 #7 in November 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked VanMoof S3 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Tom's Guide

A stylish and high-tech electric bike

Pros
Sleek, minimalist design
Good power
App lets you customize gearing

Cons
A bit heavy
Battery can’t be removed easily

Go to ranking

Forbes

Best Ebike Overall

Go to ranking

We ranked RadPower RadRover 6 Plus #8 in November 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked RadPower RadRover 6 Plus as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Bicycling

Best E-Bike Deal

Pros
Lots of features
Comfortable ride quality

Cons
Weight
Rack not included

Go to ranking

Luxe Digital

Best fat tire electric bike

Go to ranking

We ranked Aventon Aventure #9 in November 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Aventon Aventure as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Electric Bike Report

The Best Fat Tire Electric Bike, 2022

Pros
The Aventure is a very fast e-bike. It’s torquey and powerful, but it lays down power in a way that’s friendly to new riders.
The full-color LCD display is easy to read and has a very smart percentage-based battery readout.
The 720Wh battery is slightly larger than the 672Wh standard we often see in this category.
The fenders are metal instead of plastic, which just feel sturdier and don’t vibrate as much.
The styling is very unique and we love the sleekly integrated battery.

Cons
The motor has a slight lag when you resume pedaling, which is something we often see on bikes with cadence sensors.
While we like the metal fenders, they can be a little noisy on rough roads or when the tires kick up debris.

Go to ranking

Tom's Guide

A less expensive fat tire ebike

Pros
Flexible power with pedal assist and full throttle modes
Excellent color LCD controller
Competitively priced

Cons
Some turbo-lag effect

Go to ranking

We ranked Rad Power RadRunner #10 in November 2022 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Bicycling

Best Utility E-Bike

Pros
Zippy ride
Unique look

Cons
Heavy
Only one gear

Go to ranking

WIRED

Best Utility Bike

Go to ranking

Luxe Digital

Best Cargo electric bike

Go to ranking

We ranked Aventon Soltera #11 in November 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Tom's Guide

The best electric bike if you're on a budget

Pros
Great price
Impressive comfort
Easy to read head unit
Throttle is helpful getting the bike going from a dead stop

Cons
Motor assist lags
Motor feels underpowered, particularly on hills

Go to ranking

Bicycling

Best E-Bike Less Than $1,000

Pros
Sleek frame with integrated battery
Lightweight

Cons
Rim brakes

Go to ranking

We ranked Brompton Electric H6L #12 in November 2022 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Tom's Guide

A more affordable folding bike

Pros
Very light and compact
Removable battery offers versatility
Folds and unfolds super easily

Cons
Wheels are too small and narrow for super-rough roads

Go to ranking

Cycling Weekly

Best folding electric bike for compact storage

Pros
Excellent folding credentials in terms of mechanisms and size
Very portable when not riding
Smooth but powerful motor assist
Predicable power deployment

Cons
Challenging to carry much else unless in a rucksack when off bike.

Go to ranking

Cycling News

Pedal assist from the big name in folding bikes

Pros
Light weight
Compact & foldable
Removable battery

Cons
Front-wheel drive systems can get squirrely

Go to ranking

We ranked Aventon Level #13 in November 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Bicycling

Best Overall E-Bike

Pros
Excellent performance and value.
New torque sensor, lights, and LCD head unit.
Rack, fenders, and hydraulic disc brakes.

Go to ranking

Cycling News

A good looking bike with high-end features at an amazing price point

Pros
Both torque and speed sensor pedal assist
Keep up with traffic and gain high speeds
Available in stores or shipped

Cons
No lights included
No chain guard
US only

Go to ranking

We ranked Rad Power Bikes RadExpand 5 #14 in November 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Electric Bike Report

The Best E-Bike For Smaller Riders

Pros
Smaller riders will love the 16″ standover height.
The BMX handlebar is a game changer in our eyes; No other folding bike we’ve seen uses a handlebar like this and what it does for the comfort and handling qualities is noticable.
The power delivery from the motor is plenty smooth, and the bike does quite well when going up hills

Cons
We think the rigid fork works well, but some will be left wanting for a suspension fork option.

Go to ranking

Forbes

Best Folding Electric Bike

Go to ranking

We ranked Specialized S-Works Turbo Creo SL #15 in November 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Cycling Weekly

Best electric bike for looking good with an excellent ride feel

Pros
Smooth and natural system
Integration of tech
Battery life is long ranging.
Low weight of bike

Cons
Extremely expensive when compared to other e-bikes
‘Turbo Connect Unit’ position

Go to ranking

Cycling News

One of the lightest electric road bikes you can buy

Pros
Lightweight
Mission control app
Future Shock

Cons
Battery not removable from the frame
Expensive

Go to ranking

We ranked Ribble Hybrid AL e #16 in November 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
TechRadar

The best hybrid e-bike for roads and gentle trail riding

Pros
Smooth power-assisted ride
Great looks
Surprisingly affordable

Cons
App needs a little work

Go to ranking

Cycling Weekly

Best electric hybrid bike for looking stylish at an affordable price

Pros
Stable and comfortable ride position
Smooth and unobtrusive motor
Good looking bike

Cons
Alloy seatpost prone to scuffs and scratches.
Rattily fenders/ mudguards

Go to ranking

We ranked Rad Power Bikes RadWagon 4 #17 in November 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Cycling News

If there was a minivan bike this would be it

Pros
Excellent kickstand
High payload capacity

Cons
Very heavy

Go to ranking

Forbes

Best Cargo Electric Bike

Go to ranking

We ranked Ride1Up Prodigy #18 in November 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
TechRadar

The best value mid-drive electric bike

Pros
Competitive price
Hidden battery
Comes with plenty of accessories

Cons
Heavy
No throttle

Go to ranking

Bicycling

Best Price Mid-Motor E-Bike

Pros
Mid-mount Brose motor at a great price.
Solid build kit.
Step-through (ST) and standard (XR) frame choices

Cons
Only one size offered.

Go to ranking

We ranked Cannondale Topstone Neo Lefty 3 #19 in November 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Cycling Weekly

Best electric bike for out right fun off road

Pros
Great confidence inspiring handling
Impressive traction and power put down
Long ranging battery

Cons
Almost too much torque
Wheel specification low end
Looks won't be to everyone's taste

Go to ranking

Cycling News

Almost full suspension gravel bike sure to polarise opinion

Pros
Handling and grip
Torque Lefty Oliver fork

Cons
Ugly
Heavy

Go to ranking

We ranked Urban Arrow Family #20 in November 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Tom's Guide

Best cargo bike for hauling your kids

Pros
Great kickstand
Stable
Easy to get going from a dead stop
Bosch motor engages quickly and consistently

Cons
Backsweep on handlebars puts wrists at awkward angle
Very heavy and long

Go to ranking

WIRED

Best Cargo Ebike for Families

Go to ranking

We ranked QuietKat Jeep #21 in November 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Electric Bike Report

The Best All-Terrain Electric Bike, 2022

Pros
The 1,000W mid-drive motor (that we tested) is just plain fun, and noticeably powerful.
The inverted front fork is a huge plus for this bike. It’s absolutely what the 4.8” tires call for.
The 4-piston Tektro Dorado brakes were a great choice. A bike this fast and this heavy (70 lbs) warrants a powerful braking system.
Of course the Jeep branding is a little bit of marketing, but after riding this bike, we’d say QuietKat did a great job of living up to the Jeep name. It truly is a go anywhere and do anything e-bike.

Cons
The 696Wh battery is a little outmatched by the energy demands of the 1,000W motor. It would be nice to see this bike spec’d with a larger battery, but for now we highly suggest getting a second battery.
The GT MRK fork seems to work fine, but at this price I’d like to see a more name brand fork like the Wren inverted fork.

Go to ranking

Luxe Digital

Best snow electric bike

Go to ranking

We ranked Ride1Up Roadster V2 #22 in November 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Cycling Weekly

Best electric bike for work and play

Pros
Great fun to ride
Silent ride due to belt drive
Very powerful motor
Subtle e-bike looks

Cons
Tough to ride without pedal assist
Hill starts hard before motor kicks in

Go to ranking

Luxe Digital

Best electric bike for the money

Go to ranking

We ranked Trek Domane Plus #23 in November 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Luxe Digital

Fastest Electric Bike

Go to ranking

Cycling News

Endurance assisted platform with premium comfort

Pros
Isospeed front and rear
Stable handling
Resistance free pedalling

Cons
Heavy

Go to ranking