June 2022

Electric Bicycles: Meta Ranking Report

This report contains an aggregate consensus of Electric Bicycle rankings posted by key online experts, as of June 2022.

Summary

As of 12 Jun 2022, Charge Bikes City takes the cake as the most critically-acclaimed electric bicycle with 4 expert endorsements. It is followed by VanMoof S3 and Lectric Ebikes XP 2.0 , with 3 and 4 expert endorsements respectively.

At a glance - June 2022 Ranking

Scroll horizontally to browse this ranking table
Rank Change Price Electric Bicycle
Insider
Luxe Digital
Cycling News
TechRadar
WIRED
Bicycling
Tom's Guide
Cycling Weekly
Electric Bike Report
Forbes
1
- Check price
Charge Bikes City
3
-
-
-
-
8
3
-
-
6
2
+2 Check price
VanMoof S3
-
-
-
-
12
-
4
-
-
1
3
- Check price
Lectric Ebikes XP 2.0
-
5
-
-
10
-
-
-
4
4
4
+1 Check price
Specialized Turbo Vado 4.0
-
-
-
1
-
-
-
9
13
-
5
-3 Check price
Gocycle G4
4
-
-
2
-
-
-
13
14
-
6
+3 Check price
Rad Power RadCity 5 Plus
-
-
-
-
-
-
1
-
2
-
7
-1 Check price
Ride1UP 700 Series
-
6
-
-
-
-
-
-
3
2
8
+4 Check price
Specialized Turbo Creo SL Expert
-
-
1
7
-
-
-
-
-
-
9
+2 Check price
Aventon Aventure
-
-
-
-
-
-
8
-
1
-
10
-2 Check price
Rad Power Bikes RadMini 4
-
11
-
-
-
-
-
-
12
3
11
-1 Check price
Brompton Electric H6L
-
-
9
-
-
-
14
15
-
-
12
+3 Check price
Cannondale Topstone Neo Lefty 3
-
-
4
-
-
-
-
3
-
-
18
+9 Check price
RadPower RadRover 6 Plus
-
7
-
-
-
2
-
-
-
-
19
-6 Check price
Aventon Soltera
-
-
-
-
-
10
2
-
-
-
20
New * Check price
Propella 7S
-
-
-
-
3
-
12
-
-
-
21
-14 Check price
Rad Power RadRunner
-
14
-
-
2
-
-
-
-
-
22
-6 Check price
Trek Domane Plus
-
16
2
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
23
-9 Check price
Specialized S-Works Turbo Creo SL
-
-
-
-
-
16
-
2
-
-
24
-4 Check price
Ribble CGR AL e
-
-
5
8
-
-
-
-
-
-
25
-6 Check price
Ribble Hybrid AL e
-
-
-
5
-
-
-
8
-
-
26
-2 Check price
Rad Power Bikes RadWagon 4
-
-
-
-
-
11
-
-
-
5
27
-9 Check price
Urban Arrow Family
-
-
-
-
6
-
11
-
-
-
28
-11 Check price
Gazelle Ultimate C380 HMB
-
-
-
-
-
12
6
-
-
-
29
-7 Check price
Cero One
-
-
-
-
5
14
-
-
-
-
30
-7 Check price
Specialized Turbo Levo Comp
-
-
-
-
11
-
-
-
-
8
31
-10 Check price
Ampler Curt
-
-
-
10
-
-
-
11
-
-
32
-7 Check price
QuietKat Jeep
-
12
-
-
-
-
-
-
10
-
33
-7 Check price
Ride1Up Roadster V2
-
17
-
-
-
-
-
6
-
-

We ranked Charge Bikes City #1 in June 2022 because:

  • 4 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Insider

Best budget electric bike

Pros
Folding pedals and handlebars make it easy to store and carry
inexpensive price tag for an e-bike
50 miles of available range
has a lockable battery

Cons
Splash guards take some tinkering to get them not to rub on the tires
can be a jolty take-off if you're not used to the motor

Go to ranking

Bicycling

Great Parts at a Great Value

Pros
Great price
Comes with running lights, fenders, and a rear rack
Class 2 e-bike with throttle

Go to ranking

Tom's Guide

Best electric bike for commuters

Pros
Excellent handling
Complete set of features

Cons
Plain styling

Go to ranking

Forbes

Best City Commuter Bike

Go to ranking

We ranked VanMoof S3 #2 in June 2022 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked VanMoof S3 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
WIRED

The Bike Everyone Asks About

Go to ranking

Tom's Guide

A stylish and high-tech electric bike

Pros
Sleek, minimalist design
Good power
App lets you customize gearing

Cons
A bit heavy
Battery can’t be removed easily

Go to ranking

Forbes

Best Ebike Overall

Go to ranking

Methodology: combine opinions of key experts

Identify Experts

We identify key publishers and experts that consistently review and recommend Electric Bicycles.

Capture Rankings

For each publisher we find a currently recommended "top 10" list of Electric Bicycles, it must be updated in the last 9 months.

Aggregate Rankings

We put all those lists together and aggregate them. The more frequently a product is recommended, the higher it is in our ranking

Experts chosen for June 2022 ranking

We ranked Lectric Ebikes XP 2.0 #3 in June 2022 because:

  • 4 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Luxe Digital

Best Foldable

Go to ranking

WIRED

A More Affordable Folding Ebike

Go to ranking

Electric Bike Report

The Best Folding Electric Bike, 2022

Pros
This is one of the best riding affordable folding e-bikes on the market around $1,000.
The motor is powerful and accelerates quickly.
The bike collapses down small, making it easy to store and transport.
The large LCD display is easy to read and gives good ride data.
The XP comes with great features for the price point. You get quite a bit for what you pay.
The 3-inch tires give decent traction and help soak up bumps. These tires make the bike feel a little more off-road capable.

Cons
The XP’s 60-plus pound weight is a bit hefty, so while this bike folds it’s still a bit to manage.
The XP isn’t the most comfortable for longer stints in the saddle. The optional suspension seatpost may be a wise upgrade.
The key hole is located on the bottom of the frame, which can be a bit tough to find.

Go to ranking

Forbes

Best Budget Electric Bike

Go to ranking

We ranked Specialized Turbo Vado 4.0 #4 in June 2022 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Specialized Turbo Vado 4.0 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
TechRadar

The best overall electric bike for any rider

Pros
Superb power delivery
Excellent tech features
Comfortable riding position

Cons
Quite heavy
Fiddly battery connector
Premium price

Go to ranking

Cycling Weekly

Best electric hybrid bike for carrying weight and range

Pros
Versatile bike
Powerful motor
Removable and easy to charge integrated long-lasting battery

Cons
Heavy weight when compared to other e-bikes

Go to ranking

Electric Bike Report

The Best High-Performance Electric Bike , 2022

Pros
Simply put: it’s one of the best feeling motors we’ve ever experienced.
The new looks of the Turbo Vado are great – it delivers a traditional bike feel.
Specialized’s global network of dealers and nearly unparallelled customer service.
This is a cruiser that could easily double as a commuter or city bike. It’s built to be very versatile

Cons
One of our only complaints is that the magnetic charger can be difficult to seat correctly when the battery is installed in the frame.

Go to ranking

We ranked Gocycle G4 #5 in June 2022 because:

  • 4 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Insider

Best folding electric bike

Pros
Easy to store in small homes or apartments
has daytime running lights for added safety and visibility
fast top speed for a folding bike

Cons
Expensive

Go to ranking

TechRadar

The best premium electric bike for commuters and city-dwellers

Pros
Powerful new motor
Ingenious design
Excellent smartphone app

Cons
One of the most expensive e-bikes
Small wheels take a pounding

Go to ranking

Cycling Weekly

Best electric folding bike for portability when off the bike

Pros
Compact package when folded
Ability to roll along folded
Carbon fork for lightweight nimble ride feel
USB phone charge port

Cons
One size only
Bit tricky to fold and unfold
Not all models have adjustable handlebar height

Go to ranking

Electric Bike Report

The Best Lightweight Electric Folding Bike, 2022

Pros
The design is bar-none. It’s amazing how many features have been crammed into such a little frame.
Folding the G4 is very easy and, with a little practice, can be done in just a few seconds.
The carbon rims on the G4i+ may seem like overkill on a folding commuter, but man do they make a noticeable difference. Plus they’re just ultra cool.
Electric shifting is ultra cool and works great. Did we mention it’s a system made special for GoCycle?
The lightweight plus convenient folding make the G4 lineup very realistic for dedicated bike commuters who are low on space.

Cons
The predictive shifting is a nice touch, but it may take a little getting used to for experienced riders.

Go to ranking

We ranked Rad Power RadCity 5 Plus #6 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Rad Power RadCity 5 Plus as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Tom's Guide

The best electric bike for most people

Pros
Very comfortable to ride
Easy to attach accessories
Powerful motor

Cons
Secondary display hard to read in sunlight
Cable management could be better

Go to ranking

Electric Bike Report

The Best Class II Electric Commuter Bike, 2022

Pros
672Wh is plenty of battery for commutes, and it looks great on the bike.
The handling is stable and predictable.
It’s currently in the top-tier of our brake tests.
The 750W motor will get the job done for you day in and day out..
The Rad Power Bikes branded tires also performed well.

Cons
For as much as the looks were upgraded, we feel some tidier cable management would have been nice.
We like the functionality of two displays, but the LEDs on the left-hand display are hard to read in sunlight.

Go to ranking

We ranked Ride1UP 700 Series #7 in June 2022 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Luxe Digital

Most versatile

Go to ranking

Electric Bike Report

The Best Class III Electric Commuter Bike, 2022

Pros
Full-package commuter that is within a reasonable budget.
It’s a powerful and speedy bike without ever giving the feeling of blowing you off the back of it.
The tires roll well and handle nicely.
The 672 Wh battery provides you with a to-work-and-back battery range.
The tire and suspension combo helps you absorb potholes and bumps very well.
The little things that come standard (bungees for the rack, fenders, and lights) really add up nicely to feeling like you can just unpack it and go..

Cons
Overall we like the color LCD display, but it can be a bit info-heavy which will feel a bit overwhelming until you’re used to it.
Chalk this one up to preference if you want, but the faux leather grips aren’t our favorite as they can be slippery with sweaty hands

Go to ranking

Forbes

Best Value Electric Bike

Go to ranking

We ranked Specialized Turbo Creo SL Expert #8 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Specialized Turbo Creo SL Expert as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Cycling News

One of the lightest electric road bikes you can buy

Pros
Lightweight
Mission control app
Future Shock

Cons
Battery not removable from the frame

Go to ranking

TechRadar

The best electric bike for hitting the roads in style

Pros
Striking design
Quality components
Excellent performance

Cons
Launched at £7,500 (about $10,500 / AU$13,500)

Go to ranking

We ranked Aventon Aventure #9 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Aventon Aventure as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Tom's Guide

A less expensive fat tire ebike

Pros
Flexible power with pedal assist and full throttle modes
Excellent color LCD controller
Competitively priced

Cons
Some turbo-lag effect

Go to ranking

Electric Bike Report

The Best Fat Tire Electric Bike, 2022

Pros
The Aventure is a very fast e-bike. It’s torquey and powerful, but it lays down power in a way that’s friendly to new riders.
The full-color LCD display is easy to read and has a very smart percentage-based battery readout.
The 720Wh battery is slightly larger than the 672Wh standard we often see in this category.
The fenders are metal instead of plastic, which just feel sturdier and don’t vibrate as much.
The styling is very unique and we love the sleekly integrated battery.

Cons
The motor has a slight lag when you resume pedaling, which is something we often see on bikes with cadence sensors.
While we like the metal fenders, they can be a little noisy on rough roads or when the tires kick up debris.

Go to ranking

We ranked Rad Power Bikes RadMini 4 #10 in June 2022 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Luxe Digital

Best for Sand

Go to ranking

Electric Bike Report

The Best E-Bike For Smaller Riders

Pros
The RadMini is a very, very smooth riding folding e-bike. Maybe it’s the semi-slick tires, or maybe it’s the slimmed-down frame, but we love how this bike rides.
On some folding e-bikes, you sometimes can feel that the bike is technically two pieces. Not with this bike. It’s frame feels solid and well connected while riding. The clamp is also simple and easy to use.
The low and centered battery placement helps keep the RadMini’s center of gravity low, which adds to the nice handling characteristics.

Cons
While we like the battery placement for handling purposes, it’s proximity to the seatpost clamp can make it a bit cumbersome to adjust seat height.

Go to ranking

Forbes

Best Folding Electric Bike

Go to ranking

We ranked Brompton Electric H6L #11 in June 2022 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Cycling News

Pedal assisted folder

Pros
Light weight
Compact & foldable
Removable battery

Cons
Front-wheel drive systems can get squirrely

Go to ranking

Tom's Guide

A more affordable folding bike

Pros
Very light and compact
Removable battery offers versatility
Folds and unfolds super easily

Cons
Wheels are too small and narrow for super-rough roads

Go to ranking

Cycling Weekly

Best folding electric bike for compact storage

Pros
Excellent folding credentials in terms of mechanisms and size
Very portable when not riding
Smooth but powerful motor assist
Predicable power deployment
2 versions for flat or hills

Cons
Challenging to carry much else unless in a rucksack when off bike.

Go to ranking

We ranked Cannondale Topstone Neo Lefty 3 #12 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Cycling News

Almost full suspension gravel bike sure to polarize opinion

Pros
Handling and grip
Torque Lefty Oliver fork

Cons
Ugly
Heavy

Go to ranking

Cycling Weekly

Best electric bike for out right fun off road

Pros
Great confidence inspiring handling
Impressive traction and power put down
Long ranging battery

Cons
Almost too much torque
Wheel specification low end
Looks won't be to everyone's taste

Go to ranking

We ranked RadPower RadRover 6 Plus #13 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Luxe Digital

Best Fat Tire

Go to ranking

Bicycling

Best Fat Tire E-Bike

Pros
Lots of features
Comfortable ride quality

Cons
Weight
Rack not included

Go to ranking

We ranked Aventon Soltera #14 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Bicycling

Best Singlespeed E-Bike

Pros
Sleek frame with integrated battery
Lightweight

Cons
Rim brakes

Go to ranking

Tom's Guide

The best electric bike if you're on a budget

Pros
Great price
Impressive comfort
Easy to read head unit
Throttle is helpful getting the bike going from a dead stop

Cons
Motor assist lags
Motor feels underpowered, particularly on hills

Go to ranking

We ranked Propella 7S #15 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
WIRED

Best Affordable Ebike

Go to ranking

Tom's Guide

A solid and affordable e-bike

Pros
Affordable
Very light for an e-bike
Fun to ride
Flashy looks
Rear hub motor offers surprisingly strong assist

Cons
Battery mount rattles
No integrated lights

Go to ranking

We ranked Rad Power RadRunner #16 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Luxe Digital

Best Cargo

Go to ranking

WIRED

Best Utility Bike

Go to ranking

We ranked Trek Domane Plus #17 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Luxe Digital

Fastest Electric Bike

Go to ranking

Cycling News

Endurance assisted platform with premium comfort

Pros
Isospeed front and rear
Stable handling
Resistance free pedaling

Cons
Heavy

Go to ranking

We ranked Specialized S-Works Turbo Creo SL #18 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Bicycling

Best Road E-Bike

Pros
Light and fast, with a long range

Cons
Exclusionary pricing

Go to ranking

Cycling Weekly

Best electric bike for looking good with an excellent ride feel

Pros
Smooth and natural system
Integration of tech
Battery life is long ranging.
Low weight of bike

Cons
Extremely expensive when compared to other e-bikes
‘Turbo Connect Unit’ position

Go to ranking

We ranked Ribble CGR AL e #19 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Cycling News

Bang for your buck Gravel e-bike

Pros
Alloy frame
Price
Rack and fender mounts

Cons
Fixed battery

Go to ranking

TechRadar

The best electric gravel bike for fun on tougher terrain

Pros
Sporty gravel bike design
Super quick acceleration
Easy to use and switch modes

Cons
App needs some work

Go to ranking

We ranked Ribble Hybrid AL e #20 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
TechRadar

The best hybrid e-bike for roads and gentle trail riding

Pros
Smooth power-assisted ride
Great looks
Surprisingly affordable

Cons
App needs a little work

Go to ranking

Cycling Weekly

Best electric hybrid bike for looking stylish at an affordable price

Pros
Stable and comfortable ride position
Smooth and unobtrusive motor
Good looking bike

Cons
Alloy seatpost prone to scuffs and scratches.
Rattily fenders/ mudguards

Go to ranking

We ranked Rad Power Bikes RadWagon 4 #21 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Bicycling

Best Value Cargo E-Bike

Pros
Comes with lights, fenders, and a kickstand
Throttle gets you off the line more easily

Cons
Less powerful up steep hills than e-cargo bikes with mid-drive motors

Go to ranking

Forbes

Best Cargo Electric Bike

Go to ranking

We ranked Urban Arrow Family #22 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
WIRED

Best Cargo Bike for Families

Go to ranking

Tom's Guide

Best cargo bike for hauling your kids

Pros
Great kickstand
Stable
Easy to get going from a dead stop
Bosch motor engages quickly and consistently

Cons
Backsweep on handlebars puts wrists at awkward angle
Very heavy and long

Go to ranking

We ranked Gazelle Ultimate C380 HMB #23 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Bicycling

City E-Bike With Great Features

Pros
High-quality parts throughout
Low-maintenance belt drive and internal gearing

Cons
On the pricier end for a commuter bike

Go to ranking

Tom's Guide

A refined — but pricey — ride

Pros
Excellent ride
Frictionless electric power
Top combination of accessories

Cons
Expensive

Go to ranking

We ranked Cero One #24 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
WIRED

Best Cargo Bike

Go to ranking

Bicycling

Best Cycle Truck E-Cargo Bike

Pros
Intuitive feeling Shimano Steps motor
Gates belt drive and internal gear hub
Can add baskets

Cons
A little heavy for carrying upstairs

Go to ranking

We ranked Specialized Turbo Levo Comp #25 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
WIRED

Best Electric Mountain Bike

Go to ranking

Forbes

Best Electric Mountain Bike

Go to ranking

We ranked Ampler Curt #26 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
TechRadar

A stylish and subtle electric bike that’s fast and efficient.

Pros
Light and easy to get going
Stylish yet fully-featured

Cons
Motor’s cut-off point is low
Motor assist is quite gentle

Go to ranking

Cycling Weekly

Best lightweight electric hybrid bike

Pros
Light for an e-bike with a responsive ride

Cons
Battery is fixed
Harder to charged

Go to ranking

We ranked QuietKat Jeep #27 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Luxe Digital

Best for Snow

Go to ranking

Electric Bike Report

The Best All-Terrain Electric Bike, 2022

Pros
The 1,000W mid-drive motor (that we tested) is just plain fun, and noticeably powerful.
The inverted front fork is a huge plus for this bike. It’s absolutely what the 4.8” tires call for.
The 4-piston Tektro Dorado brakes were a great choice. A bike this fast and this heavy (70 lbs) warrants a powerful braking system.
Of course the Jeep branding is a little bit of marketing, but after riding this bike, we’d say QuietKat did a great job of living up to the Jeep name. It truly is a go anywhere and do anything e-bike.

Cons
The 696Wh battery is a little outmatched by the energy demands of the 1,000W motor. It would be nice to see this bike spec’d with a larger battery, but for now we highly suggest getting a second battery.
The GT MRK fork seems to work fine, but at this price I’d like to see a more name brand fork like the Wren inverted fork.

Go to ranking

We ranked Ride1Up Roadster V2 #28 in June 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Electric Bicycles” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Luxe Digital

Best for the Money

Go to ranking

Cycling Weekly

Best electric bike for work and play

Pros
Great fun to ride
Silent ride due to belt drive
Very powerful motor
Subtle e-bike looks

Cons
Tough to ride without pedal assist
Hill starts hard before motor kicks in

Go to ranking