January 2023

Pressure Cookers: MetaRanking

This page highlights the aggregate summary of Pressure Cooker rankings posted by key online experts, as of January 2023.

Summary

Between 11 Jan 2023 and 11 Jan 2023, ReviewFinder team examined a total of 73 Pressure Cooker endorsements from 10 reputable publishers.

43 Pressure Cookers were endorsed in total, only 15 made it into this month's ranking (ReviewFinder requires a minimum of 2 endorsements to be included).

As of 11 Jan 2023, Breville Fast Slow Pro takes the cake as the most critically-acclaimed pressure cooker with 9 expert endorsements. 1 expert out of 9 recommended it as the '#1 pressure cooker' this month. It is followed by Instant Pot Duo60 and T-fal Secure 5 SS , with 5 and 4 expert endorsements respectively.

Brand breakdown
Show all brands

Price breakdown
As can be seen in the chart below, lowest high-ranking pressure cookers start at $24.99 (Hawkin Classic CL Series) and go up to $332.50 (Mepra Pressure Cooker 1950). Median pressure cooker costs $147.99 (Presto 23qt Canner).
$24.99
$332.50

At a glance - January 2023 Ranking

Scroll horizontally to browse this ranking table
Rank Change Price Pressure Cooker
CNN Underscored
The Spruce Eats
The Strategist
Food & Wine
Forbes
NBC News
Simply Recipes
All Recipes
Good Housekeeping
My Domaine
1
- $276
Breville Fast Slow Pro
3
7
11
3
-
1
3
3
3
7
2
- $100
Instant Pot Duo60
-
1
1
-
1
4
-
-
1
-
3
- $71
T-fal Secure 5 SS
-
-
3
-
3
-
2
-
-
9
4
- $200
Ninja Foodi Deluxe XL
-
-
-
-
6
3
5
-
-
3
5
- Check price
Farberware 7-in-1 Programmable
-
-
-
-
-
2
-
2
2
-
6
- Check price
Instant Pot Duo Evo Plus
-
-
-
-
2
-
-
1
-
-
7
- $152
Instant Pot Crisp + Air Fryer
-
-
-
-
-
-
1
4
-
-
8
+1 $200
Instant Pot 6Qt Pro Plus
1
-
-
-
8
-
-
-
-
-
9
-1 $150
Instant Pot Pro 10-in-1
-
-
-
1
-
-
-
-
8
-
10
- $67
Presto Stainless Steel
-
3
-
2
-
-
-
-
-
-
12
- $200
Crock-Pot XL Express
-
2
9
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
13
- $110
Zavor EZLock
-
-
4
-
-
-
-
-
4
-
14
- $160
T-Fal Clipso
5
-
-
6
-
-
-
-
-
-
15
- $102
Chef iQ Smart Cooker
-
-
7
-
-
-
-
-
5
-
16
- Check price
Yedi Multi-Use 9-in-1
-
-
-
7
-
-
-
-
-
8

Sorted by price:

Position in ranking Price Pressure Cooker
#10 $66.76 Presto Stainless Steel [buy] [more info]
#3 $70.92 T-fal Secure 5 SS [buy] [more info]
#2 $99.95 Instant Pot Duo60 [buy] [more info]
#15 $102 Chef iQ Smart Cooker [buy] [more info]
#13 $109.95 Zavor EZLock [buy] [more info]
#9 $149.95 Instant Pot Pro 10-in-1 [buy] [more info]
#7 $152.18 Instant Pot Crisp + Air Fryer [buy] [more info]
#14 $160.18 T-Fal Clipso [buy] [more info]
#4 $199.95 Ninja Foodi Deluxe XL [buy] [more info]
#8 $199.95 Instant Pot 6Qt Pro Plus [buy] [more info]
#12 $199.99 Crock-Pot XL Express [buy] [more info]
#6 $245.67 Instant Pot Duo Evo Plus [buy] [more info]
#1 $276.12 Breville Fast Slow Pro [buy] [more info]

We ranked Breville Fast Slow Pro #1 in January 2023 because:

  • 9 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Pressure Cookers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Breville Fast Slow Pro as #1.
Critic endorsements:
CNN Underscored

Best splurge electric pressure cooker

Go to ranking

The Spruce Eats

Best High-End Electric

Pros
Adjustable pressure settings
Automatic steam release settings
Versatile

Cons
Number of presets may overwhelm some cooks
Short warranty period

Go to ranking

The Strategist

Best Automatic Electric Pressure Cooker

Go to ranking

Food & Wine

Best for Experienced Cooks

Pros
This appliance weds style and smarts for a premium cooking experience.
Choose from a number

Cons
Our most expensive pick, it's more of an investment than beginner cooks will want to make.
It also takes up more space than other 6-quart models.

Go to ranking

NBC News

Go to ranking

Simply Recipes

Best Multi-Cooker

Pros
Sharp stainless steel design
intuitive control panel
accurate presets
easy to clean and store
features an auto-pulse release

Cons
Pot may retain some odors

Go to ranking

All Recipes

Best Foodie Buy

Go to ranking

Good Housekeeping

Best Electric Pressure Cooker

Pros
Offers great control over temperature and pressure levels
Custom setting option

Cons
Came up to pressure slower than others we tested
No delay start setting

Go to ranking

My Domaine

Best Smart

Go to ranking

We ranked Instant Pot Duo60 #2 in January 2023 because:

  • 5 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Pressure Cookers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 4 experts ranked Instant Pot Duo60 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
The Spruce Eats

Best Overall

Pros
Remembers previous settings
Three temperature levels
Precise temperature control

Cons
Comes with minimal accessories
Difficult to see the pressure valve

Go to ranking

The Strategist

Best-Rated Pressure Cooker

Go to ranking

Forbes

Best Pressure Cooker for Most People

Pros
Easy to use
Simple cleanup
Built-in safety features

Cons
Lower capacity than other models

Go to ranking

NBC News

Go to ranking

Good Housekeeping

Best Overall Pressure Cooker

Pros
Simple, intuitive controls
​​Pressure cooks on low and high for more control

Cons
Took a long time to release pressure naturally

Go to ranking

Methodology: combine opinions of key experts

Identify Experts

We identify key publishers and experts that consistently review and recommend Pressure Cookers.

Capture Rankings

For each publisher we find a currently recommended "top 10" list of Pressure Cookers, it must be updated in the last 9 months.

Aggregate Rankings

We put all those lists together and aggregate them. The more frequently a product is recommended, the higher it is in our ranking

Experts chosen for January 2023 ranking

We ranked T-fal Secure 5 SS #3 in January 2023 because:

  • 4 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Pressure Cookers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
The Strategist

Best Stovetop Pressure Cooker for Beginners

Go to ranking

Forbes

Best Stovetop Pressure Cooker

Pros
Versatile on any heat source
Easy to clean
Variable steam release

Cons
Smaller capacity
Expensive for a non-electric model

Go to ranking

Simply Recipes

Best Stovetop

Pros
Affordable
compact
lid locks securely to reduce accidents

Cons
Replacement parts unavailable

Go to ranking

My Domaine

Best Overall Stovetop

Go to ranking

We ranked Ninja Foodi Deluxe XL #4 in January 2023 because:

  • 4 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Pressure Cookers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Forbes

Best Pressure Cooker Air Fryer Combo

Pros
Extra-large capacity
Multiple cooking functions

Cons
Expensive
Many accessories to store

Go to ranking

NBC News

Go to ranking

Simply Recipes

Best for Big-Batch Cooking

Pros
Suitable size for large meals
can cook nearly anything
easy to clean
powerful performance

Cons
Heavy
takes up a lot of counter space

Go to ranking

My Domaine

Best Splurge

Go to ranking

We ranked Farberware 7-in-1 Programmable #5 in January 2023 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Pressure Cookers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
NBC News

Go to ranking

All Recipes

Best Budget Buy

Go to ranking

Good Housekeeping

Best Value Pressure Cooker

Pros
Nicely priced
Turned out impressive pressure- and slow-cooked meals in Lab tests
Useful programmed settings

Cons
Manual lacks detail
Slow to release pressure naturally

Go to ranking

We ranked Instant Pot Duo Evo Plus #6 in January 2023 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Pressure Cookers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Instant Pot Duo Evo Plus as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Forbes

Best Instant Pot

Pros
More customizable programs
Upgraded cooling technology

Cons
Lower capacity than other models
More expensive

Go to ranking

All Recipes

Best Overall

Go to ranking

We ranked Instant Pot Crisp + Air Fryer #7 in January 2023 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Pressure Cookers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Instant Pot Crisp + Air Fryer as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Simply Recipes

Best Overall

Pros
Multiple options of cooking
heats up quickly
easy to clean

Cons
Air fryer may be too small for some

Go to ranking

All Recipes

Honorable Mention

Go to ranking

We ranked Instant Pot 6Qt Pro Plus #8 in January 2023 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Pressure Cookers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Instant Pot 6Qt Pro Plus as #1.
Critic endorsements:
CNN Underscored

Best electric pressure cooker overall

Go to ranking

Forbes

Best Smart Pressure Cooker

Pros
Multiple functions
Larger screen
Easy to operate and clean

Cons
Lower capacity than other models
Expensive

Go to ranking

We ranked Instant Pot Pro 10-in-1 #9 in January 2023 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Pressure Cookers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Instant Pot Pro 10-in-1 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Food & Wine

Best Overall

Pros
Set it and forget that it's even cooking thanks to 11 safety features, including a new model update to steam value release.
It also shows real-time cooking progress.

Cons
It takes up a lot of space on the counter and wherever you store it.
The sous vide function can be inconsistent.

Go to ranking

Good Housekeeping

Best Stainless Steel Pressure Cooker

Pros
Comes to pressure quickly
Stainless steel cooking pot has silicone handles for ease transport
Easy to clean

Cons
Natural pressure release is slow

Go to ranking

We ranked Presto Stainless Steel #10 in January 2023 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Pressure Cookers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
The Spruce Eats

Best Budget Stovetop

Pros
Affordable
Simple controls
Cooks quickly

Cons
No adjustable pressure
Handles loosen over time

Go to ranking

Food & Wine

Best Value

Pros
This stovetop pressure cooker can go in the dishwasher and is fully immersible in water for quick cooling.
A side handle makes it easy to transport.

Cons
This basic model requires more oversight while cooking, and it doesn't have pre-programmable features or presets.

Go to ranking

We ranked Crock-Pot XL Express #11 in January 2023 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Pressure Cookers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
The Spruce Eats

Best Budget

Pros
Inexpensive
Nonstick cook pot
Easy-to-read control panel
Trusted brand

Cons
No manual pressure button
Difficult to see the pressure valve
No medium temperature setting

Go to ranking

The Strategist

Best Combination Pressure and Slow Cooker

Go to ranking

We ranked Zavor EZLock #12 in January 2023 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Pressure Cookers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
The Strategist

Best Stovetop Pressure Cooker for Canning

Go to ranking

Good Housekeeping

Best Stovetop Pressure Cooker

Pros
Easy locking lid
Clear pressure indicator

Cons
Pricey

Go to ranking

We ranked T-Fal Clipso #13 in January 2023 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Pressure Cookers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
CNN Underscored

Best budget stovetop pressure cooker

Go to ranking

Food & Wine

Best Stovetop

Pros
Sturdy plastic handles don't get hot, and its steam valve release is easy and safe to use with one hand.

Cons
It needs supervision while cooking.
Pressure issues can result without enough liquid.

Go to ranking

We ranked Chef iQ Smart Cooker #14 in January 2023 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Pressure Cookers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
The Strategist

Best Smart Pressure Cooker

Go to ranking

Good Housekeeping

Best Smart Pressure Cooker

Pros
Wireless controls
Access to recipes and instructions
Built-in scale

Cons
App occasionally loses connection
Outer lid gets very hot

Go to ranking

We ranked Yedi Multi-Use 9-in-1 #15 in January 2023 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Pressure Cookers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Food & Wine

Best for Large Servings

Pros
It has the capacity to cook large servings, but you can also use its accessories to cook smaller dishes, including two at once.

Cons
Error messages are not uncommon, and troubleshooting will likely require calling customer service.

Go to ranking

My Domaine

Best Accessories

Go to ranking