July 2021

Rowing Machines: Aggregated Ranking Report

This report contains an aggregate consensus of Rowing Machine rankings posted by key online experts, as of July 2021.

Methodology: combine opinions of key experts

Identify Experts

We identify key publishers and experts that consistently review and recommend Rowing Machines.

Capture Rankings

For each publisher we find a currently recommended "top 10" list of Rowing Machines, it must be updated in the last 9 months.

Aggregate Rankings

We put all those lists together and aggregate them. The more frequently a product is recommended, the higher it is in our ranking

Experts chosen for July 2021 ranking

At a glance - July 2021 Ranking

Scroll horizontally to browse this ranking table
Rank Price Rowing Machine
CNET
SELF
The Home Gym
greatist
The Strategist
Women's Health
Verywell Fit
HiConsumption
The Trend Spotter
Healthline
1
Check price Hydrow Rower
1
7
1
2
3
13
1
10
-
9
2
$1228 Concept2 RowErg
2
-
-
7
1
6
-
4
-
1
3
$2400 NordicTrack RW900
-
6
2
3
4
2
-
8
-
6
4
$1160 WaterRower Natural Rowing Machine
5
9
-
8
2
10
2
-
-
-
5
$250 Sunny Health SF-RW5515
3
2
-
-
6
-
-
-
14
2
6
$15 The Ergatta Rower
-
8
4
-
-
14
9
9
-
-
7
$630 Velocity Exercise Magnetic Rower
-
-
-
4
-
7
4
3
-
-
8
$239 Fitness Reality 1000 Plus
-
-
-
-
-
1
-
-
1
-
9
$835 The Echelon Smart Rower
-
-
3
10
-
-
-
-
-
3
10
Check price MaxKare Magnetic Tension
-
3
-
-
5
-
-
-
-
5
11
$309 Stamina ATS Air 1399
-
-
9
-
-
-
10
2
-
-
12
$140 Stamina Body Trac Glider 1050
4
-
-
-
-
9
-
-
-
4
13
$85 Sunny SF-RW1205
-
1
-
-
-
3
-
-
-
-
14
$129 Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW5639
-
-
-
1
-
-
3
-
-
-
15
Check price Concept2 Model D Indoor
-
4
-
-
-
-
-
-
5
-
16
$329 Stamina 1215
-
-
-
-
-
-
5
-
15
-
17
$729 Stamina Conversion II
-
-
-
9
-
-
6
-
-
-
18
$103 Sunny Row-N-Ride
-
-
-
5
-
-
7
-
-
-
19
$1560 WaterRower Classic S4
-
-
5
-
-
-
-
7
-
-
20
Check price Maxkare Water Rowing Machine
-
-
-
6
-
-
11
-
-
-
21
$600 ProForm 750R
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
6
4
-
22
$600 Schwinn Crewmaster
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
18
7
23
$379 Women’s Health/Men’s Health Rowing Machine
-
-
-
-
-
5
-
-
-
8

We ranked Hydrow Rower #1 in July 2021 because:

  • 9 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
  • Out of those, 3 experts ranked Hydrow Rower as #1.
Critic endorsements:
CNET

Go to ranking

SELF

Go to ranking

The Home Gym

Pros
Interactive workouts from home
Heavy-duty, single piece frame
375 lb weight capacity
Advanced, computer-controlled magnetic resistance system
Adjustable drag
22″ HD touchscreen monitor
Access to hundreds of live and on-demand workouts
Smooth gliding seat/rail system
Easily adjustable foot pedals
Easy assembly
Good warranty

Cons
Vertical storage kit not included

Go to ranking

greatist

Best splurge rowing machine

Pros
Real rowing feel, built-in speakers, large touch screen

Cons
Expensive, membership required

Go to ranking

The Strategist

Strategist-tested: Senior writer Karen Adelson’s pick for all-in-one rowing at home

Go to ranking

Women's Health

Go to ranking

Verywell Fit

Best Overall

Pros
Most immersive rowing experience
Top-of-the-line design
Smooth and quiet strokes

Cons
Larger footprint than other options
Heavy

Go to ranking

HiConsumption

Go to ranking

Healthline

Best rowing machine for in-water simulation

Go to ranking

We ranked Concept2 RowErg #2 in July 2021 because:

  • 6 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
  • Out of those, 2 experts ranked Concept2 RowErg as #1.
Critic endorsements:
CNET

Go to ranking

greatist

Best air resistance

Pros
Easy to assemble, Bluetooth connectivity

Cons
Air resistance can be noisy, resistance levels might not be tough enough for more advanced athletes.

Go to ranking

The Strategist

Snooping: Jason Statham’s rowing machine

Go to ranking

Women's Health

Go to ranking

HiConsumption

Go to ranking

Healthline

Best overall rowing machine

Go to ranking

We ranked NordicTrack RW900 #3 in July 2021 because:

  • 7 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
SELF

Go to ranking

The Home Gym

Pros
Dual, magnetic/air resistance system
26 levels of magnetic resistance
10 levels of air resistance (damper)
30 built-in workouts
Folding frame
Large, comfortable pedals with quick adjust straps
22″ HD touchscreen display
Adjustable console
1 year iFit included
Chest strap heart rate monitor compatible
Hundreds of on-demand workouts to choose from (iFit)
Scenic rows
4 user profiles
Great warranty

Cons
Weight capacity only 250 lb
Heart rate monitor not included

Go to ranking

greatist

Best rowing machine for classes

Pros
1-year iFit membership with purchase, large touch screen, easy to store

Cons
Membership requires payment after the first year (currently $396 annually), air resistance can be noisy

Go to ranking

The Strategist

Men’s Health editors’ pick

Go to ranking

Women's Health

Go to ranking

HiConsumption

Go to ranking

Healthline

Best high tech rowing machine

Go to ranking

We ranked WaterRower Natural Rowing Machine #4 in July 2021 because:

  • 6 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
CNET

Go to ranking

SELF

Go to ranking

greatist

Best high weight capacity rowing machine

Pros
High weight capacity, easy to use, aesthetically pleasing design

Cons
Assembly requires power tools, resistance level difficult to change

Go to ranking

The Strategist

Expert-approved: A Pilates instructor’s favorite rowing machine

Go to ranking

Women's Health

Go to ranking

Verywell Fit

Best Overall Runner-Up

Pros
Durable design
Authentic rowing experience
Non-slip rowing handle

Cons
Heavy

Go to ranking

We ranked Sunny Health SF-RW5515 #5 in July 2021 because:

  • 5 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
CNET

Go to ranking

SELF

Go to ranking

The Strategist

Strategist family poll: The rowing machine I bought my dad for Christmas

Go to ranking

The Trend Spotter

Go to ranking

Healthline

Best budget rowing machine

Go to ranking

We ranked The Ergatta Rower #6 in July 2021 because:

  • 5 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
SELF

Go to ranking

The Home Gym

Pros
Natural, water resistance system
Unlimited resistance
Adjustable water level
Solid, cherry wood frame
500 lb weight limit
Stores vertically
17.3″ HD touchscreen display
4 different personalized workout pathways
Competitive, racing workouts
Workouts/pathways/community challenges added regularly
Bluetooth compatible
Heart rate monitor compatible
Professional assembly included with delivery
Good warranty

Go to ranking

Women's Health

Go to ranking

Verywell Fit

Best Design

Pros
Sleek, handcrafted design
Easy to move and store
Multiple features and workouts
Bluetooth compatibility

Cons
Expensive
Technology takes time to master

Go to ranking

HiConsumption

Go to ranking

We ranked Velocity Exercise Magnetic Rower #7 in July 2021 because:

  • 4 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
greatist

Best rowing machine for small spaces

Pros
Quiet, easy to store, comes with a heart rate monitor

Cons
Durability concerns from reviewers, hard to reach customer service

Go to ranking

Women's Health

Go to ranking

Verywell Fit

Best Quiet

Pros
Solid construction
Easy to assemble
Quiet enough to use in a common area

Cons
Too small for tall people

Go to ranking

HiConsumption

Go to ranking

We ranked Fitness Reality 1000 Plus #8 in July 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
  • Out of those, 2 experts ranked Fitness Reality 1000 Plus as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Women's Health

Easiest to assemble

Go to ranking

The Trend Spotter

Go to ranking

We ranked The Echelon Smart Rower #9 in July 2021 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
The Home Gym

Pros
Smooth magnetic resistance system
32 levels of resistance
Resistance adjusted conveniently from handlebars
300 lb weight capacity
Folding frame
Adjustable foot pedals
Easy assembly
Access to hundreds of on-demand workouts
Scenic rows
Tablet holder swivels

Cons
Short warranty

Go to ranking

greatist

Best magnetic resistance

Pros
Quiet, access to rowing and nonrowing classes with app subscription

Cons
Extra cost for app subscription, need to use your own tablet or smartphone

Go to ranking

Healthline

Best rowing machine with adjustable resistance levels

Go to ranking

We ranked MaxKare Magnetic Tension #10 in July 2021 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
SELF

Go to ranking

The Strategist

Self editors’ pick

Go to ranking

Healthline

Best rowing machine for beginners

Go to ranking

We ranked Stamina ATS Air 1399 #11 in July 2021 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
The Home Gym

Pros
Unlimited air resistance
Easy to assemble
Very affordable
Folds in half for storage
Built-in transport wheels make moving the rower easy
Decent warranty

Cons
Fairly low user weight capacity
Frame a little short

Go to ranking

Verywell Fit

Best Wind Resistance

Pros
Resistance naturally changes based on your intensity
Lightweight
Comfortable

Cons
Louder than other options

Go to ranking

HiConsumption

Go to ranking

We ranked Stamina Body Trac Glider 1050 #12 in July 2021 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
CNET

Go to ranking

Women's Health

Go to ranking

Healthline

Best rowing machine for small spaces

Go to ranking

We ranked Sunny SF-RW1205 #13 in July 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Sunny SF-RW1205 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
SELF

Go to ranking

Women's Health

Go to ranking

We ranked Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW5639 #14 in July 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW5639 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
greatist

Best rowing machine under $200

Pros
Compact, inexpensive, quiet

Cons
Not great for full-body workout

Go to ranking

Verywell Fit

Best Budget

Pros
Great for small spaces
Quiet
Easy to use

Cons
Changing resistance mid-workout isn't seamless

Go to ranking

We ranked Concept2 Model D Indoor #15 in July 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
SELF

Go to ranking

The Trend Spotter

Go to ranking

We ranked Stamina 1215 #16 in July 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Verywell Fit

Best for Total-Body Workouts

Pros
Full range of motion for arms
Mimics rowing outdoors
Very compact

Cons
Challenging to assemble

Go to ranking

The Trend Spotter

Go to ranking

We ranked Stamina Conversion II #17 in July 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
greatist

Best convertible

Pros
Adjusts to recumbent bike, easy to use

Cons
Seat can be uncomfortable for biking, difficult to assemble

Go to ranking

Verywell Fit

Best Recumbent

Pros
Great for users who need additional support
Convenient to fold and store
Two-in-one design

Cons
Doesn't mimic a traditional rowing experience

Go to ranking

We ranked Sunny Row-N-Ride #18 in July 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
greatist

Best rowing machine for lower-body workouts

Pros
Easy to use, assemble, and store; great for lower-body workouts

Cons
Nontraditional rower, not a lot of resistance options

Go to ranking

Verywell Fit

Best for Small Spaces

Pros
Silent
Very small footprint
Secure design

Cons
Doesn't mimic a traditional rowing experience

Go to ranking

We ranked WaterRower Classic S4 #19 in July 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
The Home Gym

Pros
Water resistance system mimics feel of rowing on the water
Durable, hardwood frame
Elegant design
600 – 700 lb weight capacity
Heart rate monitor compatible
S4 monitor with workout programs included
Can be stored vertically
Optional hi rise set makes getting on/off easier
Easy to assemble
Good warranty

Cons
Heart rate monitor not included

Go to ranking

HiConsumption

Go to ranking

We ranked Maxkare Water Rowing Machine #20 in July 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
greatist

Best water resistance

Pros
Easy to assemble and use, relaxing water sounds

Cons
Not as easy to store, no resistance levels

Go to ranking

Verywell Fit

Best Water Resistance

Pros
Ergonomically designed seat
Mimics outdoor rowing well
Easy to store

Cons
Tracker needs improvement

Go to ranking

We ranked ProForm 750R #21 in July 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
HiConsumption

Go to ranking

The Trend Spotter

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07VGP794F/

Go to ranking

We ranked Schwinn Crewmaster #22 in July 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
The Trend Spotter

Go to ranking

Healthline

Best rowing machine with an oversized seat

Go to ranking

We ranked Women’s Health/Men’s Health Rowing Machine #23 in July 2021 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Rowing Machines” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Women's Health

Go to ranking

Healthline

Best rowing machine with Bluetooth connectivity

Go to ranking