September 2022

Vacuum Sealers: Meta Ranking Report

This report contains an aggregate consensus of Vacuum Sealer rankings posted by key online experts, as of September 2022.

Summary

As of 8 Sep 2022, Nesco Deluxe VS-12 takes the cake as the most critically-acclaimed vacuum sealer with 6 expert endorsements. 4 experts out of 6 recommended it as the '#1 vacuum sealer' this month. It is followed by Anova Precision Sealer and NutriChef PKVS18 , with 6 and 5 expert endorsements respectively.

At a glance - September 2022 Ranking

Scroll horizontally to browse this ranking table
Rank Change Price Vacuum Sealer
Reviewed
Wirecutter
Sous Vide Guy
The Strategist
Food & Wine
Consumer Reports
Delish
Good Housekeeping
Business Insider
The Spruce Eats
1
- $120
Nesco Deluxe VS-12
2
2
-
-
1
-
1
1
-
1
2
- $72
Anova Precision Sealer
-
3
-
-
-
3
5
5
6
3
3
- $55
NutriChef PKVS18
-
-
-
-
5
-
7
3
4
8
4
- $216
FoodSaver V4840
-
-
2
-
-
-
-
-
1
7
5
- Check price
Geryon E2900-MS
-
-
-
-
2
-
-
2
-
6
6
- $150
Anova Precision Pro
-
1
-
2
-
-
-
-
-
-
7
- $68
Nesco VS-02
-
-
-
-
4
-
-
-
2
5
8
- $89
FoodSaver FM2000
1
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
4
9
- $80
Zwilling Fresh & Save
-
-
-
3
-
-
-
-
3
-
10
- $60
Mueller Austria MFFVS-01
-
-
5
-
-
-
-
-
-
2
14
- $290
Weston Pro-1100
-
-
-
-
-
-
3
7
-
-
15
- $195
FoodSaver VS3150
-
-
-
-
-
-
4
4
-
-
16
- $35
FoodSaver Cordless Sealer
-
-
-
-
-
-
6
6
-
-

We ranked Nesco Deluxe VS-12 #1 in September 2022 because:

  • 6 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 4 experts ranked Nesco Deluxe VS-12 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Reviewed

Pros
Offers multiple settings for suction
Countdown display
Includes onboard bag cutter and storage

Cons
Manual light on food safety info

Go to ranking

Wirecutter

Bulkier, plus extra controls

Go to ranking

Food & Wine

Best Overall

Pros
Our testers found that this vacuum allowed for complete control, which lets users manage exactly how much power they want to use. As a result, we were able to seal raspberries without crushing them—a task that most of the other machines struggled with.

Cons
We found this machine to be a bit louder than the others, but sound didn't affect performance.

Go to ranking

Delish

Best Food Vaccum Sealer

Pros
Powerful suction
Secure double-heat seal

Cons
Slow seal cycle

Go to ranking

Good Housekeeping

Best Overall Food Vacuum Sealer

Pros
Powerful suction
Accessory port
Built-in bag cutter

Cons
Slow seal cycle, according to reviewers

Go to ranking

The Spruce Eats

Best Overall

Pros
Excellent pulse control
Great for fragile foods
Easy to use

Cons
Loud
Doesn't include attachment hose for canister use

Go to ranking

We ranked Anova Precision Sealer #2 in September 2022 because:

  • 6 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Wirecutter

Best for small spaces

Go to ranking

Consumer Reports

Go to ranking

Delish

Easiest to Use Food Vacuum Sealer

Pros
Compact and lightweight
3 sealing functions

Cons
No bonus accessories

Go to ranking

Good Housekeeping

Best Food Vacuum Sealer for Beginners

Pros
Easy to use
Compact and lightweight
Three settings

Cons
Limited functionality

Go to ranking

Business Insider

Best vacuum sealer for sous vide cooking

Pros
Made by a well known sous vide company and made specifically for that use, lightweight, portable, sleek design for storage, has a pulse vacuum for delicate foods

Cons
More manual than other sealers (you have to line up the bag and make sure lid is closed), suction power isn't as strong

Go to ranking

The Spruce Eats

Best for Beginners

Pros
Easy to use
Quiet
Compact

Cons
No accessory port for containers
No adjustment for sealing dry/moist foods

Go to ranking

Methodology: combine opinions of key experts

Identify Experts

We identify key publishers and experts that consistently review and recommend Vacuum Sealers.

Capture Rankings

For each publisher we find a currently recommended "top 10" list of Vacuum Sealers, it must be updated in the last 9 months.

Aggregate Rankings

We put all those lists together and aggregate them. The more frequently a product is recommended, the higher it is in our ranking

Experts chosen for September 2022 ranking

We ranked NutriChef PKVS18 #3 in September 2022 because:

  • 5 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Food & Wine

Best for Delicate Foods

Pros
This slender machine was the most gentle of all we tested, and was able to easily remove air without crushing any of the delicate foods.

Cons
Our testers don't recommend this unit for bulk sealing, so it's not ideal for working in big batches.

Go to ranking

Delish

Best Food Vacuum Sealer for Sous Vide

Pros
One-touch operation
Great for sous vide

Cons
May produce inconsistent results

Go to ranking

Good Housekeeping

Best Food Vacuum Sealer for Sous Vide

Pros
One-touch operation
Seals moist foods well
Four colors available

Cons
Inconsistent results if bag is too full

Go to ranking

Business Insider

Best compact vacuum sealer

Pros
Lightweight, has a gentle mode for delicate foods, dry and moist modes, digital button controls

Cons
Was too powerful for raspberries but not crackers, hard to close (doesn't always click to let you know it's closed)

Go to ranking

The Spruce Eats

Most Versatile

Pros
Incredible pulse control
Compact, lightweight design
Includes air suction hose and wine stopper cork

Cons
Overheats quickly

Go to ranking

We ranked FoodSaver V4840 #4 in September 2022 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked FoodSaver V4840 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Sous Vide Guy

Best Value

Go to ranking

Business Insider

Best vacuum sealer overall

Pros
Easy to use, clear lights indicate when sealing and vacuuming are done, handheld vacuum sealer is good for delicate foods or jars

Cons
Bulky and takes up a lot of storage space, heavy, pricier than other vacuum sealers

Go to ranking

The Spruce Eats

Best Professional

Pros
Fully automated and simple to operate
Powerful suction is quick to seal
Easy to clean

Cons
Not great for delicate items

Go to ranking

We ranked Geryon E2900-MS #5 in September 2022 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Food & Wine

Best Value

Pros
This lightweight vacuum sealer is easy to assemble and surprisingly powerful.

Cons
As a result of its powerful motor, it doesn't seal as gently as others, and it crushed some of the more delicate ingredients in our tests.

Go to ranking

Good Housekeeping

Best Value Food Vacuum Sealer

Pros
Compact and lightweight
User-friendly
Easy to clean

Cons
Reviewers say there's an initial learning curve

Go to ranking

The Spruce Eats

Runner-Up, Best Budget

Pros
Easy to use
Lightweight and compact
Powerful suction good for meat

Cons
Not good with delicate items
Overly sensitive touchpad

Go to ranking

We ranked Anova Precision Pro #6 in September 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked Anova Precision Pro as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Wirecutter

The best vacuum sealer

Go to ranking

The Strategist

Best less expensive food vacuum sealer

Go to ranking

We ranked Nesco VS-02 #7 in September 2022 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Food & Wine

Best for Beginners

Pros
A simple interface, slim design, and increased suction control makes this an easy option for first-timers.

Cons
Unlike some of the other models on this list, this option does not have a pulse function.

Go to ranking

Business Insider

Best budget vacuum sealer

Pros
Sealer function is quiet, sleek design, portable and stores easily

Cons
Sliding cutter isn't as seamless to use as others, harder to close (takes some strength), doesn't have a manual vacuum option

Go to ranking

The Spruce Eats

Best Budget

Pros
Intuitive control panel
Built-in bag roll compartment
Can vacuum and seal opened bags of snacks (like cereal, chips, and cookies)

Cons
Bulkier than some other models
No drip tray

Go to ranking

We ranked FoodSaver FM2000 #8 in September 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked FoodSaver FM2000 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Reviewed

Best Overall / Editors' Choice

Pros
Comes with removable drip tray
Cord winds away neatly
Easy to use

Cons
No cutter or on-board storage

Go to ranking

The Spruce Eats

Best for Small Spaces

Pros
Can be stored vertically or horizontally
Easy to use
Good pulse control

Cons
Expensive

Go to ranking

We ranked Zwilling Fresh & Save #9 in September 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
The Strategist

Best simple food vacuum sealer

Go to ranking

Business Insider

The best handheld vacuum sealer

Pros
Compact and portable, comes with food-safe glass containers, has a phone app, stores easily

Cons
You have to use Zwilling's bags and containers, containers aren't ideal for bulk freezer storage

Go to ranking

We ranked Mueller Austria MFFVS-01 #10 in September 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Sous Vide Guy

Low Cost

Go to ranking

The Spruce Eats

Runner-Up, Best Overall

Pros
Quick, strong seal
Compatible with other brands of sealer bags and rolls
Affordable and compact
Includes accessory port and hose

Cons
No bag cutter or onboard storage for rolls
Accessory hose doesn't include an adapter

Go to ranking

We ranked Weston Pro-1100 #11 in September 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Delish

Best Splurge Food Vacuum Sealer

Pros
One-touch design
Durable and powerful

Cons
Pricey
Bulky

Go to ranking

Good Housekeeping

Best Commercial-Grade Food Vacuum Sealer

Pros
Holds up to heavy use
One-touch operation
Accessory port

Cons
Bulky and unattractive

Go to ranking

We ranked FoodSaver VS3150 #12 in September 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Delish

Most Versatile Food Vacuum Sealer

Pros
Includes built-in handheld sealer
Multiple settings

Cons
Has a learning curve

Go to ranking

Good Housekeeping

Most Versatile Food Vacuum Sealer

Pros
Includes a moist, dry, and pulse setting
Features a built-in hand held sealer that's compatible with resealable bags and other accessories like wine stoppers and containers

Cons
Positioning the bag for sealing takes some getting used to

Go to ranking

We ranked FoodSaver Cordless Sealer #13 in September 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Delish

Best Handheld Food Vacuum Sealer

Pros
Excellent performance between charges
Compact and portable

Cons
Only one setting

Go to ranking

Good Housekeeping

Best Handheld Food Vacuum Sealer

Pros
Performed well in lab testing
Seal 60 bags with a single charge
Highly portable

Cons
One setting

Go to ranking