May 2022

Vacuum Sealers: Aggregated Ranking Report

This report contains an aggregate consensus of Vacuum Sealer rankings posted by key online experts, as of May 2022.

At a glance - May 2022 Ranking

Scroll horizontally to browse this ranking table
Rank Change Price Vacuum Sealer
Food & Wine
The Spruce Eats
Wirecutter
Good Housekeeping
Reviewed
The Strategist
Delish
Consumer Reports
Business Insider
Sous Vide Guy
1
- Check price
Nesco Deluxe VS-12
1
1
1
1
2
-
1
-
-
-
2
- $80
Anova Precision Sealer
-
3
2
7
-
-
2
3
6
-
3
+2 $67
Nesco VS-02
4
5
3
-
-
-
-
-
2
-
4
-1 $54
NutriChef PKVS18
5
8
-
2
-
-
-
-
4
-
5
-1 $240
FoodSaver V4840
-
7
-
-
-
-
-
-
1
2
6
+2 $89
FoodSaver FM2000
-
4
-
-
1
-
4
-
-
-
7
-1 $50
Mueller Austria MFFVS-01
-
2
-
-
-
-
6
-
-
5
8
-1 Check price
Geryon E2900-MS
2
6
-
4
-
-
-
-
-
-
9
- $80
Zwilling Fresh & Save
-
-
-
-
-
3
-
-
3
-

We ranked Nesco Deluxe VS-12 #1 in May 2022 because:

  • 6 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 5 experts ranked Nesco Deluxe VS-12 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
Food & Wine

Best Overall

Pros
Our testers found that this vacuum allowed for complete control, which lets users manage exactly how much power they want to use. As a result, we were able to seal raspberries without crushing them—a task that most of the other machines struggled with.

Cons
We found this machine to be a bit louder than the others, but sound didn't affect performance.

Go to ranking

The Spruce Eats

Best Overall

Pros
Excellent pulse control
Great for fragile foods
Easy to use

Cons
Loud
Doesn't include attachment hose for canister use

Go to ranking

Wirecutter

The best vacuum sealer

Go to ranking

Good Housekeeping

Best Overall Food Vacuum Sealer

Pros
Powerful suction
Accessory port
Built-in bag cutter

Cons
Slow seal cycle

Go to ranking

Reviewed

Pros
Offers multiple settings for suction
Countdown display
Includes onboard bag cutter and storage

Cons
Manual light on food safety info

Go to ranking

Delish

Best Overall

Go to ranking

We ranked Anova Precision Sealer #2 in May 2022 because:

  • 6 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
The Spruce Eats

Best for Beginners

Pros
Easy to use
Quiet
Compact

Cons
No accessory port for containers
No adjustment for sealing dry/moist foods

Go to ranking

Wirecutter

Best for small spaces

Go to ranking

Good Housekeeping

Best Food Vacuum Sealer for Beginners

Pros
Easy to use
Compact and lightweight

Cons
Limited functionality

Go to ranking

Delish

Best for Sous Vide

Go to ranking

Consumer Reports

Go to ranking

Business Insider

Best vacuum sealer for sous vide cooking

Pros
Made by a well known sous vide company and made specifically for that use, lightweight, portable, sleek design for storage, has a pulse vacuum for delicate foods

Cons
More manual than other sealers (you have to line up the bag and make sure lid is closed), suction power isn't as strong

Go to ranking

Methodology: combine opinions of key experts

Identify Experts

We identify key publishers and experts that consistently review and recommend Vacuum Sealers.

Capture Rankings

For each publisher we find a currently recommended "top 10" list of Vacuum Sealers, it must be updated in the last 9 months.

Aggregate Rankings

We put all those lists together and aggregate them. The more frequently a product is recommended, the higher it is in our ranking

Experts chosen for May 2022 ranking

We ranked Nesco VS-02 #3 in May 2022 because:

  • 4 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Food & Wine

Best for Beginners

Pros
A simple interface, slim design, and increased suction control makes this an easy option for first-timers.

Cons
Unlike some of the other models on this list, this option does not have a pulse function.

Go to ranking

The Spruce Eats

Best Budget

Pros
Intuitive control panel
Built-in bag roll compartment
Can vacuum and seal opened bags of snacks (like cereal, chips, and cookies)

Cons
Bulkier than some other models
No drip tray

Go to ranking

Wirecutter

A compact vacuum sealer under $100

Go to ranking

Business Insider

Best budget vacuum sealer

Pros
Sealer function is quiet, sleek design, portable and stores easily

Cons
Sliding cutter isn't as seamless to use as others, harder to close (takes some strength), doesn't have a manual vacuum option

Go to ranking

We ranked NutriChef PKVS18 #4 in May 2022 because:

  • 4 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Food & Wine

Best for Delicate Foods

Pros
This slender machine was the most gentle of all we tested, and was able to easily remove air without crushing any of the delicate foods.

Cons
Our testers don't recommend this unit for bulk sealing, so it's not ideal for working in big batches.

Go to ranking

The Spruce Eats

Most Versatile

Pros
Incredible pulse control
Compact, lightweight design
Includes air suction hose and wine stopper cork

Cons
Overheats quickly

Go to ranking

Good Housekeeping

Best Value Food Vacuum Sealer

Pros
One-touch operation
Seals moist foods well

Cons
Inconsistent results

Go to ranking

Business Insider

Best compact vacuum sealer

Pros
Lightweight, has a gentle mode for delicate foods, dry and moist modes, digital button controls

Cons
Was too powerful for raspberries but not crackers, hard to close (doesn't always click to let you know it's closed)

Go to ranking

We ranked FoodSaver V4840 #5 in May 2022 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked FoodSaver V4840 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
The Spruce Eats

Best Professional

Pros
Fully automated and simple to operate
Powerful suction is quick to seal
Easy to clean

Cons
Not great for delicate items

Go to ranking

Business Insider

Best vacuum sealer overall

Pros
Easy to use, clear lights indicate when sealing and vacuuming are done, handheld vacuum sealer is good for delicate foods or jars

Cons
Bulky and takes up a lot of storage space, heavy, pricier than other vacuum sealers

Go to ranking

Sous Vide Guy

Best Overall

Go to ranking

We ranked FoodSaver FM2000 #6 in May 2022 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
  • Out of those, 1 expert ranked FoodSaver FM2000 as #1.
Critic endorsements:
The Spruce Eats

Best for Small Spaces

Pros
Can be stored vertically or horizontally
Easy to use
Good pulse control

Cons
Expensive

Go to ranking

Reviewed

Best Overall / Editors' Choice

Pros
Comes with removable drip tray
Cord winds away neatly
Easy to use

Cons
No cutter or on-board storage

Go to ranking

Delish

Best Multi-functional

Go to ranking

We ranked Mueller Austria MFFVS-01 #7 in May 2022 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
The Spruce Eats

Runner-Up, Best Overall

Pros
Quick, strong seal
Compatible with other brands of sealer bags and rolls
Affordable and compact
Includes accessory port and hose

Cons
No bag cutter or onboard storage for rolls
Accessory hose doesn't include an adapter

Go to ranking

Delish

Most Compact

Go to ranking

Sous Vide Guy

Cheapest

Go to ranking

We ranked Geryon E2900-MS #8 in May 2022 because:

  • 3 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
Food & Wine

Best Value

Pros
This lightweight vacuum sealer is easy to assemble and surprisingly powerful.

Cons
As a result of its powerful motor, it doesn't seal as gently as others, and it crushed some of the more delicate ingredients in our tests.

Go to ranking

The Spruce Eats

Runner-Up, Best Budget

Pros
Easy to use
Lightweight and compact
Powerful suction good for meat

Cons
Not good with delicate items
Overly sensitive touchpad

Go to ranking

Good Housekeeping

Best Selling Food Vacuum Sealer on Amazon

Pros
Compact and lightweight
User-friendly
Easy to clean

Cons
Doesn't work well on moist foods

Go to ranking

We ranked Zwilling Fresh & Save #9 in May 2022 because:

  • 2 independent experts mentioned it in their “best Vacuum Sealers” rankings.
Critic endorsements:
The Strategist

Best simple food vacuum sealer

Go to ranking

Business Insider

The best handheld vacuum sealer

Pros
Compact and portable, comes with food-safe glass containers, has a phone app, stores easily

Cons
You have to use Zwilling's bags and containers, containers aren't ideal for bulk freezer storage

Go to ranking